Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BillMazza
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-26-2011
Message 1 of 4 (593 Views)
Accepted Solution

Rotating in an assembly background.

593 Views, 3 Replies
09-26-2011 10:34 AM

I have a part that I am inserting into an assembly, the assembly consists of a 2D AutoCAD Architectural background. I want to align the part, with the background itself, so I just need to turn it 90degrees. When I do a rotate, it keeps rotating it on a 3D axis, including when I use my grip edit, and use a line to align for the new rotation.

 

How do I quickly rotate a part so that it's not rotating on a 3D axis, it just rotates along the x,y axis?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,540
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (554 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-26-2011 01:44 PM in reply to: BillMazza

It is a bit unclear what you are trying to do.
The normal method is to use assembly constraints (perhaps with the origin planes).
Post screen capture or actual files here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,540
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (552 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-26-2011 01:48 PM in reply to: JDMather

I hesitate to tell you this as it is propbably not the best way.
But if you click on one of the standard views before you rotate and then start the command you will see rotation axis outside of the arcball.  I think this is the same across Autodesk products.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
BillMazza
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-26-2011
Message 4 of 4 (512 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-29-2011 01:54 PM in reply to: JDMather

Hi JD,

Thanks for the help, I found the answer to my problem....I have to stop thinking AutoCAD.

 

I found that when I am using asset builder, putting in my connectors, setting the ground plane, etc....then I go to insert it into the assembly, It acts just the way I need it to.

I did just post another query just now, which is really troubling me, regarding multiple assets bogging down the whole Inventor platform.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.