Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
michael.shelley
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,302 Views)

Resolve Link - What am I missing??

1302 Views, 6 Replies
10-31-2012 07:37 AM

Hi Guys,

 

I have spent the best part of 4 hours trying to solve this problem. I have moved my inventor files to a new hard disk.

 

I have then updated all file paths to match in the project folder options and in options in Inventor.

 

Yet I have to keep resolving links for content centre files in my assemblys??

 

I have read a lot of what has been posted before here but can't really find a difinitive solution.

 

Can anyone help?

 

Thanks!!

 

Michael

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,300 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: michael.shelley

Did you copy all the content center files to the same location on your new disk?

Check your project file to make sure the location is correct.

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
michael.shelley
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,280 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Hi!!

 

Yes I did. I have remapped all the project properties to match where the content is. I have also updated all the file paths in the options tab.

 

Michael

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 4 of 7 (1,273 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: michael.shelley

Did you change drive letters?

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
michael.shelley
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,268 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Yes, From drive C to D but this has been changed in all paths??

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 6 of 7 (1,265 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 01:16 PM in reply to: michael.shelley

Try opening the assembly, Manage tab, Content Center Panel, Refresh.

John Retzlaff
Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 7 of 7 (1,241 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 04:16 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

I assume you copied the content centre file from your user directory, or wherever the project file points to. (Honestly I am not sure where it lives anymore)

 

I have experienced this many years ago, fix for the future:

 

Copy all your content centre files to your 'Workspace' folder, and then re-map the project/defaults to the new directory, this should solve all future issues.

 

Example:

cc files.JPG

 


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.