Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
TimShaul
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 9 (436 Views)

Reregistration of Inventor.EXE?

436 Views, 8 Replies
11-12-2002 12:29 AM
I get this Error when opening Inventor, sometimes not every time.

Inventor.EXE needs to reregister with the operating system and the following progrmes (Explorer)are running and may prevent reregistion from successfully completing. Autodesk recommends terminating the offending processes to ensure proper reregistion. Terminate these processes before continuing with the reregistion?

Do you know what is wrong? Explorer is not allways open when I start Inventor.
*DJSpaceMouse
Message 2 of 9 (436 Views)

Re: Reregistration of Inventor.EXE?

11-12-2002 12:38 AM in reply to: TimShaul
You'll see this if you use Inventor 5.3 then use
Inventor 6.  If you answer "no" to the question to terminate the process,
Inventor 6 will run fine.

 

That message doesn't mean Windows Explorer or
Internet Explorer.  It means Explorer.exe - the heart of the Windows
operating system.  It's always running.

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
get this Error when opening Inventor, sometimes not every time.

Inventor.EXE needs to reregister with the operating system and the
following progrmes (Explorer)are running and may prevent reregistion from
successfully completing. Autodesk recommends terminating the offending
processes to ensure proper reregistion. Terminate these processes before
continuing with the reregistion?

Do you know what is wrong? Explorer is not allways open when I start
Inventor.

*Bilton, John
Message 3 of 9 (436 Views)

Re: Reregistration of Inventor.EXE?

11-12-2002 12:39 AM in reply to: TimShaul
Explorer is always running - it is the Windows Interface, you do not necessarily have to fire up
Windows Explorer.

John Bilton
*Hinterhoeller, Richard
Message 4 of 9 (436 Views)

Re: Reregistration of Inventor.EXE?

11-12-2002 12:40 AM in reply to: TimShaul
I get this every time I launch R6 after having run R5.3. Don't know the
cause but it doesn't result in any problems.

There was a thread about this a while ago.

Richard

TimShaul wrote:
> I get this Error when opening Inventor, sometimes not every time.
>
> Inventor.EXE needs to reregister with the operating system and the
> following progrmes (Explorer)are running and may prevent reregistion
> from successfully completing. Autodesk recommends terminating the
> offending processes to ensure proper reregistion. Terminate these
> processes before continuing with the reregistion?
>
> Do you know what is wrong? Explorer is not allways open when I start
> Inventor.
>
Active Contributor
TimShaul
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 5 of 9 (436 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 12:40 AM in reply to: TimShaul
ok, thanx
*Bilton, John
Message 6 of 9 (436 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 12:46 AM in reply to: TimShaul
Inventor installs some "extensions" to Windows Explorer (Pack n Go, Design Assistant etc.) which are
different between 5.3 and 6. Restarting the shell is usually all that's required, although for
safety I would recommend a reboot.

John Bilton
*Caldwell, Larry
Message 7 of 9 (436 Views)

Re: Reregistration of Inventor.EXE?

11-12-2002 01:48 AM in reply to: TimShaul
When I had both versions on my machine, I logged
off then logged back on every time before changing to the other
version.

~Larry


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
get this Error when opening Inventor, sometimes not every time.

Inventor.EXE needs to reregister with the operating system and the
following progrmes (Explorer)are running and may prevent reregistion from
successfully completing. Autodesk recommends terminating the offending
processes to ensure proper reregistion. Terminate these processes before
continuing with the reregistion?

Do you know what is wrong? Explorer is not allways open when I start
Inventor.

Active Member
kkelly2
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-21-2003
Message 8 of 9 (436 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 06:08 AM in reply to: TimShaul
Shell????....I have the same problem and it will not allow me to run Inventor at all.

I think is a Inventor---XP problem
*Yeandle, Laurence
Message 9 of 9 (436 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 07:29 AM in reply to: TimShaul
Been there done that worn the funny hat got a
plastic mack and holes in my wellies, solution :-    Uninstall
6.0- now 5.3 starts for a blink of an eye- uninstall 5.3- now clean out every
thing called Autodesk and start again. Good luck.


--
Laurence,
  
Power is nothing without
Control
---
        


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Shell????....I
have the same problem and it will not allow me to run Inventor at all.

I think is a Inventor---XP problem

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!