Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
patrjck
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 1 of 13 (313 Views)

Request: printer configurations!

313 Views, 12 Replies
07-20-2011 06:35 AM

Dear Autodesk, I routinely use A, B, C, and D size drawings.  C and D size go to our wide format printer and then I have to select the paper size.  It would be really nice if Inventor could automatically print D size drawings on D size paper and so on.  I'm envisioning some kind of configuration manager that I set up once and for all, then never worry about setting up printers again.  You would set a print configuration for every size of drawing.  Please consider this feature in future releases. 

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 617
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 2 of 13 (304 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 06:56 AM in reply to: patrjck

print profiles have been requested many times over the years...  (without them it makes printing from the Task Scheduler a joke as you can only print documents of the same paper-size together, and how do you know the paper-size without opening each idw, so defeating the purpose of a batch-print tool...)

 

all I can suggest is to use KWIKPrints for now:

http://www.kwikmcad.com/icode/KWiKPrints32_64/KWiKPrints32_64.aspx

 

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Mentor
jdits7
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-26-2001
Message 3 of 13 (302 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 06:59 AM in reply to: patrjck

You can always try an addin, a great one is called Swift Prints. Here is a link to the download.

 

http://cadtoolbox.com/swift-prints/

 

jdits7
Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional
Blog - http://www.inventortopix.com
Twitter - @InventorTopixJD
Contributor
patrjck
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 4 of 13 (295 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 07:27 AM in reply to: jdits7

Swift prints is pretty nice, saves a lot of clicks.  Now if only it auto detected the sheet size ... thanks for the tip!

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,302
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 13 (271 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 10:08 AM in reply to: jdits7

I've bn using swift prints for about a year.  I can only use it to print to my pdfcreator.  Works great for this... two clicks and it is printed.

 

If I try to print to a network printer it doesnt work.  Wondering if others have the same issue with swiftprints.

Contributor
patrjck
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 6 of 13 (264 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 10:33 AM in reply to: karthur1

Both printers I use are networked and work just fine.  Windows 7 32 bit, Inventor 12

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 906
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 7 of 13 (258 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 10:48 AM in reply to: patrjck

Just curious: why 32-bit Windows 7?

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
Contributor
patrjck
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 8 of 13 (248 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 11:23 AM in reply to: kstate92

Our IS department doesn't support 64 bit.  This turned out for the best because we use an ancient wide printer that Xerox doesn't write 64 bit drivers for.  I have 2 computers and run 64 bit on my main workstation and print from my 32 bit laptop.  Now you know!

Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 9 of 13 (243 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 11:37 AM in reply to: karthur1

Have you downloaded the latest version of Swift Prints? It's new as of 06/25/2011.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,302
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 10 of 13 (218 Views)

Re: Request: printer configurations!

07-20-2011 12:19 PM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

Thomas,

Yes, I am using V2.0 (b2).  When I print via swiftprints, it sends the file to the printer. At the printer, there is a message on the screen that says "Paper Size and Type Mismatch".  If I am printing 8 1/2 x 11, I can select it from the printer screen and it prints just fine.  Our printer has 8 1/2 x 11, 11 x 17 and Ledger size loaded in it.

 

When I configured swiftprints, I just selected the paper size that was on the drop-down list.

 

Kirk

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!