Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
cholte
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 1 of 3 (102 Views)
Accepted Solution

Representa​tions/Posi​tion

102 Views, 2 Replies
06-04-2012 01:29 PM

 “Representations/Position” can only be used at one level and can’t use a parent assy Representations/Position to drive several child Representations/Position???

Here's a link to a post that outlines how you can leverage Pos Reps from sub assemblies in a top level assembly:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Creating-drawings-of-positional-rep-s-within-sub-assemblies/m-p/1147075

 

The "trick" is to have the Pos rep at the required level and then access it from the "next level". So a Sub assembly has the desired Positional Rep an a next level has one that activates it.

Dave that worked but not exactly as explained because the different versions of software... So I've updated and highlighted as per Inventor 2013

 

Top level Representations /Positional:

Create the positional reps required in the subassembly - In your top level assembly create a new Positional Representation and ensure it is Activated Within the top-level assembly. Then right-click the subassembly you want to change (in the browser) and select Override - Click the Component tab. Check “Positional Representation” and then select the Positional rep you want to be activated when the Positional Rep in the top-level assembly is activated.

 

Switching between the Pos Reps in the top level assembly will now activate the associated Pos Rep in the subassembly. Note that if you need this to work through multiple assembly levels you must set up this relationship between each level of the assembly (Can't override a Pos Rep of a grandchild sub from the top-level assembly).

 

Product Support
dave.anderson
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎10-25-2006
Message 2 of 3 (78 Views)

Re: Representa​tions/Posi​tion

06-06-2012 11:00 AM in reply to: cholte

Here's a link to a post that outlines how you can leverage Pos Reps from sub assemblies in a top level assembly:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Creating-drawings-of-positional-rep-s-within-sub-ass...

 

The "trick" is to have the Pos rep at the required level and then access it from the "next level". So a Sub assembly has the desired Positional Rep an a next level has one that activates it.



Dave Anderson
Premium Support Analyst – DLS Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.


If I have answered your question, please "Accept Solution" so others may benefit as well.
Contributor
cholte
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
Message 3 of 3 (73 Views)

Re: Representa​tions/Posi​tion

06-06-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: dave.anderson

Dave that worked but not exactly as explained because the different versions of software... So I've updated and highlighted as per Inventor 2013

 

Top level Representations /Positional:

Create the positional reps required in the subassembly - In your top level assembly create a new Positional Representation and ensure it is Activated Within the top-level assembly. Then right-click the subassembly you want to change (in the browser) and select Override - Click the Component tab. Check “Positional Representation” and then select the Positional rep you want to be activated when the Positional Rep in the top-level assembly is activated.

 

Switching between the Pos Reps in the top level assembly will now activate the associated Pos Rep in the subassembly. Note that if you need this to work through multiple assembly levels you must set up this relationship between each level of the assembly (Can't override a Pos Rep of a grandchild sub from the top-level assembly).

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.