Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
ravencontrols
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 1 of 32 (613 Views)

Rendering Models

613 Views, 31 Replies
11-06-2012 06:45 AM

I have a model of my companys faclitiy i drew up in inventor and want to import in 3ds max and render it. I have never used 3ds max and dont understand how to do it. Can someone explain to me how to take the model of the facility i drew up and import it in 3ds max and render it. Thanks Derek

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,093
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 2 of 32 (585 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-06-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: ravencontrols

or depending on how good you want the visual, use inventor studio.  you dont have to learn a complete new package again

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,028
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 32 (580 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-06-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: ravencontrols

Showcase is much easier and quicker to learn. 3dMax is incredibly in depth and has requires a lot to learn to get the most out of it. There are a number of videos on Youth as well as in the start-up panel of the program.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
billyb
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-13-2005
Message 4 of 32 (543 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-06-2012 08:53 PM in reply to: ravencontrols

I concur with Blair. Showcase will be easier to use. It does a good job. See attached.

 

Bill Bogan
- Providing freelance visualization
- Inventor: Expert
- Revit: Novice and growing...
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,028
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 32 (529 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-06-2012 10:04 PM in reply to: billyb

AML7600B-ABS.jpgA quick ShowCase render

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
billyb
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-13-2005
Message 6 of 32 (499 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-07-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: blair

Blair, nicely done!!

I did this one the other day...

 RaceCar_book_02.jpg

Bill Bogan
- Providing freelance visualization
- Inventor: Expert
- Revit: Novice and growing...
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,028
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 32 (466 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

11-07-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: ravencontrols

Nice as well.

 

With ShowCase, I guess that one would have to use the Split-Face too in Inventor to be able to apply two different material types to a single IPT within the ShowCase environment.

 

Good example, for the tires we use on our Inventor trailer models, it's a simple 360 deg revolve and to get a different tire materials for the side-wall and the tire face.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
gsmith9810
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎12-28-2012
Message 8 of 32 (342 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

03-11-2013 02:12 PM in reply to: blair

Should I be looking at Showcase?

 

I'm routinely being asked to generate print quality marketing renders of machines with 16k total parts in 1k of open documents.

 

Using INV Studio is taking 1.5 hours to generate a single rendered image.

 

Inventor Routed Systems 2011
2 Duo CPU @ 2.4 GHZ
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 4600 v310.9 768 MB dedicated/4351 MB available
Windows 7 - 64 bit

-------------------------------------------------------
Gary Smith
Inventor Product Design Suite 2013sp2
Windows 7sp1 64-bit
nVidia Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 739
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 9 of 32 (334 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

03-11-2013 02:25 PM in reply to: gsmith9810

gsmith9810 wrote:

Should I be looking at Showcase?

 

I'm routinely being asked to generate print quality marketing renders of machines with 16k total parts in 1k of open documents.

 

Using INV Studio is taking 1.5 hours to generate a single rendered image.

 

Inventor Routed Systems 2011
2 Duo CPU @ 2.4 GHZ
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 4600 v310.9 768 MB dedicated/4351 MB available
Windows 7 - 64 bit


 

 

Showcase probably won't be any quicker in rendering, but it'll look a lot better.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Distinguished Contributor
gsmith9810
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎12-28-2012
Message 10 of 32 (331 Views)

Re: Rendering Models

03-11-2013 02:40 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Thank-you sir!

 

In your opinion, what >>should<< I be looking at to kick my rendering performance up (several) notches?

 

I don't think that I can upgrade individual components of my h/w set-up however I may be able to make a case to dump this box and get something more performant.

 

Gary Smith

Inventor Routed Systems 2011
2 Duo CPU @ 2.4 GHZ
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 4600 v310.9 768 MB dedicated/4351 MB available
Windows 7 - 64 bit

-------------------------------------------------------
Gary Smith
Inventor Product Design Suite 2013sp2
Windows 7sp1 64-bit
nVidia Quadro 2000
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.