Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Render questions (Blender Bunkspeed Shot)?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
dpsmith85
1825 Views, 9 Replies

Render questions (Blender Bunkspeed Shot)?

I'm fairly new at rendering, I've used inventor studio and Photoview 360 (solidworks rendering software) but I've never used any third party software.  I've been looking into using either blender or bunkspeed shot to do some rendering but I'm wondering how I save my models in Inventor.  I know that I should save it as a STEP file but is a step file similar to a "pack and go"?  In other words if I save an assembly as a STEP file could I take just that STEP file to another computer and begin rendering?  Does it contain all the parts and subassemblies or do I need to do something else?  I'm imagining/hoping that a step file would be like a zip file that contains all the model data and references.

Also, I've been looking at bunkspeed move as well for the animation capabilities.  I know that inventor studio uses the constraints to animate.  Does anyone have any experience using move?  I'm wondering if it works similar?  And that raises the question does a step file contain the constraints so I could animate them?

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
jtylerbc
in reply to: dpsmith85

STEP does act like Pack & Go in the sense that you end up with a single STEP file for the entire exported assembly, which does not require any other files to be able to open it.  Itis intended to be a neutral format for interchanging between different CAD systems, but some things just don't translate.