Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
WILLIAMF
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 1 of 7 (784 Views)

REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

784 Views, 6 Replies
02-10-2012 06:32 AM

I just installed inventor on a new computer and all the assemblies I open that had content center fasteners are now missing links. How can I fix this?

Dell Precision T3500
Windows 7 Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
6 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Product Design Suite 2014 Premium
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 7 (780 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: WILLIAMF

Did you point the new install to the correct Content Center location?  Is the Content Center Add In loaded?  What version of Inventor?  Desktop CC content or Vault?

 

hmmm,... did I miss anything?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Mentor
WILLIAMF
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 3 of 7 (776 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: cbenner

2012 product design suite, content center add-in is loaded, Using desktop CC content, no vault. Where should I direct the CC location to then?

Dell Precision T3500
Windows 7 Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
6 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Product Design Suite 2014 Premium
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 783
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 7 (772 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: WILLIAMF
I believe you just need to copy all the content center parts from your back up to the saved directory listed in your application options. I'm talking about the actual part files created when you place a CC file, not the family data.
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Mentor
WILLIAMF
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 5 of 7 (768 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Don't understand what the back up is and saved directory. Please clarify. Thnaks

Dell Precision T3500
Windows 7 Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
6 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Product Design Suite 2014 Premium
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 783
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 6 of 7 (755 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: WILLIAMF

I'm on my phone because I am travelling right now so I can't post any screenshots and I am going from memory here. Others might be able to help out better but here's the explanation:

 

The files that are created when you place a component from content center are saved to a specific location on your hard drive. This location is specified by default in your application options so look there to see where they are stored. You have the power to alter this and you may have done so I don't know. What I am trying to say is that the files you are looking for are only going to exist on your new computer if you copy them back over from somewhere else (e.g. the old computer, a back up store somewhere, etc.) the files themselves do not exist on the installation media. CC doesn't have any files in it, it is only a database, the files are created when you place a component. If you haven't backed up the files from your CC location (again, specified in the application options) you are probably screwed, but I would do a search on this forum because this has been discussed about 100 times in the past and there are smarter people than me on this forum.

 

Going forward, if you have lost all you CC files, I would suggest you alter the default location of any newly created CC files either by changing the default location in your application options or by setting it on a project basis using the project file. For example, our project files specificy a location within the workspace where all of our CC files are stored for that project. That way when the project file is backed up, moved, whatever, the CC files go with it.

 

Good Luck!

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Mentor
WILLIAMF
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 7 of 7 (744 Views)

Re: REIMISSING ALL MY CONTENT CENTER FILES

02-10-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Good explanation. I think I might be screwed. All the parts I installed from content center were on my local c drive. Now I have a new computer and all assemblies are missing the hardware. I did save everything I had on my old "C" drive and made a search path in my project on the new computer and some, but not al lhardware i had were found. Making some progress. Thanks

Dell Precision T3500
Windows 7 Pro
Quad Core Intel Xeon
6 Gb SDRam
NVIDIA Quadro
Product Design Suite 2014 Premium
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.