Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Infallable
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 1 of 3 (99 Views)

referenced components?

99 Views, 2 Replies
10-04-2012 02:40 AM

How do I make referenced components from parts and assemblies? (I searched the web and it said that that you can change it in the iProperties by selecting the Reference tick box under the occurance tab - but no such thing exists in Inventor 2011!! HELP!!

 

thanks in advance

Valued Mentor
japike
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎02-06-2004
Message 2 of 3 (90 Views)

Re: referenced components?

10-04-2012 04:18 AM in reply to: Infallable

In an assembly, right click on the component and select BOM Structure. Or right click on the component and select iProperties\Occurance Tab\Bom Structure. Or click on the BOM tool and in the BOM Structure column, double click on the current setting to get a drop down.

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2013
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 3 (67 Views)

Re: referenced components?

10-04-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: Infallable

Just to elaborate on what Jeff wrote, the iProperties box has an extra tab named "Occurrence" when you open iProperties of a component from within an assembly.  Here you can set a number of different things related to its behavior in the assembly, including Reference/Default, Grounding and even the actual location relative to origin, if it doesn't violate constraints.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.