Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

jestes
Message 1 of 6 (791 Views)

Reference Drawing Sheet Number with iLogic

791 Views, 5 Replies
12-11-2012 12:01 PM

Hi,

Does anyone know how to reference the drawign sheet number using iLogic?  I see on the snippets on the side a way to reference the sheet name, but I only want the number.  To get the name it is ActiveSheet.Name, but ActiveSheet.Number does not work.  Getting the name give something like ASSM:1, so if there was a way to take that and subtract the colon and everything before it that would work also.  I am not a programmer, I've just taked some programs I found online and modified them a little to do what I want to do, but this is holding me back a bit.

Overall, I'm trying to modify the drawing view label to have a project number, referenced from the drawign iProperties, a view label, and sheet number, and then save that info in an iproperty of the part, and then reference that in the BOM so it automatically labels all of the views and fills out a column of the BOM to reference which page and view to find the parts of the assembly.  I have everything working except for the sheet number.

I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Jeremy

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Message 2 of 6 (788 Views)

Re: Reference Drawing Sheet Number with iLogic

12-11-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: jestes

Hi jestes,

Here is an example:

Dim oSheet As Sheet
Dim SheetNumber as String
i = 1
For Each oSheet In ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.Sheets
SheetNumber  = Mid(oSheet.Name, InStr(1, oSheet.Name, ":") + 1)
MessageBox.Show(SheetNumber, oSheet.Name)
i=1+1
Next

Or something like this to get the active sheet only:

oDoc = ThisDoc.Document
SheetNumber  = Mid(oDoc.ActiveSheet.Name, InStr(1, oDoc.ActiveSheet.Name, ":") + 1)
MessageBox.Show(SheetNumber, oDoc.ActiveSheet.Name)

Keep in mind you might have better luck searching and asking questions of this type on the Inventor Customization forum: