Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
zcohenld
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 1 of 12 (712 Views)

Ray tracing wont work

712 Views, 11 Replies
08-22-2012 03:24 PM

So I've been using ray the realistic view with ray tracing enabled for a while now for quick renders, but I recently had to reinstall Windows and now it wont work. I've installed all of my drivers and everything is up to date, but when I click on ray tracing it starts to do it for a couple of seconds then just disables. After that first try whenever I click the button it simply wont enable. Any idea on how I can fix this problem?

Employee
Xun.Zhang
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-04-2011
Message 2 of 12 (676 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-26-2012 11:36 PM in reply to: zcohenld

Hi Zcohenld,

It's hard to identify the reason for the raytracing issue, could you provide more information? such as:

1. Your OS

2. Your Grapich Card and other hardware information

3. Dataset for rendering

4. A video for the issue

 

My suggestion is reinstall Graphic card diver for the first step, if it make no sense, Pleae try to reinstall Inventor for further step.



Xun Zhang
Software QA Engineer
Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 12 (674 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-26-2012 11:52 PM in reply to: zcohenld

Do a un-install of your graphics card drivers first before you try do the re-install.

 

Check your systems: Performance Information and Tools from the Control Panel. Also with Inventor open and a model open within Inventor run the hardware test and see what hardware level you get.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Employee
Xun.Zhang
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-04-2011
Message 4 of 12 (670 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-27-2012 12:22 AM in reply to: zcohenld

Hi Zcohenld,

One more comments, please try to update the driver of your Graphic card first.



Xun Zhang
Software QA Engineer
Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
zcohenld
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 5 of 12 (644 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-31-2012 03:58 PM in reply to: Xun.Zhang

Sorry about the delay in a response.

 

Running Windows 7 32bit

AMD Phenom 9850 quad core (2.5GHz)

GTX480

4 GB ram

 

Below is a video of the problem.

http://youtu.be/usqYLX4XDEw

 

I tried reinstalling both Inventor and my graphics drivers. Both did not fix the problem.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 12 (642 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-31-2012 04:23 PM in reply to: zcohenld

You didn't give the hardware level from with Inventor.

 

I would guess that you may have a voltage problem with your card. These cards require additional power supply cable to be plugged into them, should something happen they will drop back to a minimum level.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Member
zcohenld
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 7 of 12 (633 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-31-2012 07:36 PM in reply to: blair

Sorry, but what do you mean by the hardware level for Inventor?

And the power to my video card is fine. As I said in my first post, everything used to work, its just when I reinstalled my OS it stopped. I havent changed the wiring at all since then. Anyway, I have the video card powered not only by the PCIe but by the extra power cables as well, and my PSU can handle the full pull of the video card and processor at the same time (850watt)

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 12 (628 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

08-31-2012 11:14 PM in reply to: zcohenld

The "Performance Information and Tools" is run from the Windows system: Start>Control Panel>Performance Information and Tools: give us the numbers

 

The Hardware Assemement level is run within Inventor. Open Inventor, open a model, the open the Tools>Options> Applications Tab>Hardware>Dianostic: it will give a Feature Level

 

While you are at this screen try using the different settings: Quality, Performance, Compatibilty and Software praphics

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Member
zcohenld
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 9 of 12 (619 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

09-01-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: blair

Processor--7.1

Memory--7.2

Graphics--7.9

Gaming graphics--7.9

Primary hard disk--5.9

 

Inventor was set to Performance, changing any of the settings didn't fix the problem.

 

Below are the diagnostics from Inventor as well if you needed it.

 

This Direct3D graphics driver is Microsoft WHQL certified
Graphics Hardware Description:
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480

AIRViz Device Manager \ VirtualDeviceDx11
Feature Level 5_0
Quality Mode
Hardware Renderer

Graphics driver file nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll,nvwgf2um.dll is version 8.17.13.142
Current optimization settings are not known
The display is using 32-bit color


Inventor Version:

Build: 138, Release: 2013 RTM - Date: Thu 03/01/2012
32-Bit Edition - 2.00 GB


Loaded Inventor Add-Ins:

Assembly Bonus Tools
Simulation: Dynamic Simulation
Simulation: Frame Analysis
iCopy


System Information:

Operating System: 32-bit Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (Build 7601) Service Pack 1
Language: English
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: GA-MA790FX-UD5P
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor (1 processor, 4 cores)
System Memory: 3.116 GB RAM


Graphics Device Information:

Renderer: HAL
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip Type: GeForce GTX 480
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Graphics HW Memory: 1.454 GB
Display Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (59 Hz)

Graphics driver file: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
Driver file version: 8.17.13.142
Driver Date: 15 May 2012 0:00:00 UTC (Coordinated Universal Time)


Direct3D Graphics Device Information:

Adapter Description: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480
Vendor ID string: 0x000010de
Device ID string: 0x000006c0
VendorID: 10de
DeviceID: 6c0
SubSystemID: 75f10de
Revision: a3


Direct3D 10 / DXGI System Information:

Dedicated Video Memory: 1.454 GB
Dedicated System Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 1.308 GB


DxDiag System Information:

Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 32-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120330-1504)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: GA-MA790FX-UD5P
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
System Memory: 4096MB RAM
Page File: 3899MB used, 2480MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514


DxDiag Graphics Device Information:

DirectX Version: 10.0
DDI Version: 11
DDI Version Number: b
DxDiag WHQL Level: 0
Driver Signed Valid: True
Driver Signed: True
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip Type: GeForce GTX 480
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Revision:
Graphics HW Memory: 2827 MB
Display Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (59Hz)

Graphics driver file: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
Driver file version: 8.17.0013.0142
Driver Date: 5/15/2012 06:26:00
WHQL Level: 1


Inventor Options Information:

Options = 0x00000000
Warning Options = 0x00000000


Graphics driver log information:

 

 

Thank you for bearing with me as I get all the information you need.

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 12 (613 Views)

Re: Ray tracing wont work

09-01-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: zcohenld

Everything looks fine, you should be able to run Ray-Tracing without a problem.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.