Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
tkuhl
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 1 of 8 (1,204 Views)
Accepted Solution

"Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom view.

1204 Views, 7 Replies
10-01-2012 07:15 AM

Hi,

 

Is there any way to use the "Rotate at angle" command outside of the "custom view" environment?

Is there actually any technical reason why the controlls in the attached screenshot are not available in the Studio and normal modelling environments?

Thanks.

Hi tkuhl,

 

I've run into this need with our Marketing department who wanted renders from the exact camera angle for all of our family of products. The solution I used was to create a "studio camera box assembly".

 

I used work points created on a surface box to set the precise camera locations and angles, and then just use this assembly as a template into which the product assemblies are dropped into.

 

Studio Camera Precise Angle.png

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 8 (1,198 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: tkuhl

1) You don't tell us what version of Inventor you are using.

2) You did not attach screenshot.

3) are you trying to rotate a view at a given angle?

4) provide screenshot of what you are trying to rotate..


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,213
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (1,196 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: tkuhl

You can rotate in Studio (but I don't understand how that would address your drawing view issue) or you can Move Bodies - Rotate.

 

Rotate Body.JPG

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=REDIRECT_IDD_PM_TRANSFORM&language=ENU&release=2013&p...

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
tkuhl
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 4 of 8 (1,178 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thank you for the swift reply.

I am trying to render images from inventor studio with a camera view that is a given angle to and distance from the model. My method so far has been to try and find a rotation tool that accepts precision input and then render an image from the current camera view.

My question probably should have been "Are there any tools to precicely control rotation (like the custom view tools) available when using Inventor studio."

Thanks.

 

PS:

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2013, Build 138

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,213
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (1,173 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: tkuhl

tkuhl wrote:

 

I am trying to render images from inventor studio with a camera view


 

 

I missed that portion of your original problem description.  I'm sure there is a way (one-way or another) to get angle(s) you want.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
tkuhl
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 6 of 8 (1,162 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks, I'll see if I get any suggestions!

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,000
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 7 of 8 (1,153 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-01-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: tkuhl

Hi tkuhl,

 

I've run into this need with our Marketing department who wanted renders from the exact camera angle for all of our family of products. The solution I used was to create a "studio camera box assembly".

 

I used work points created on a surface box to set the precise camera locations and angles, and then just use this assembly as a template into which the product assemblies are dropped into.

 

Studio Camera Precise Angle.png

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Member
tkuhl
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 8 of 8 (1,105 Views)

Re: "Rotate at angle" command only available when creating a custom vi

10-05-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Hi Curtis,

Thank you very much - that got me out of trouble!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.