Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 1 of 5 (47 Views)

"Measure Distance" problems

47 Views, 4 Replies
11-25-2002 10:03 PM
I must say, the "measure distance" command is not very good. I was hoping that by R6, it would have been improved.
I have a simple sketch that consists of two lines tangent to an arc and would like to measure the total length of the lines plus arc without measuring them individually and using a calculator. I have tried using the "add to accumulate" feature to no avail.
Is there some way to do this. I can't believe I have to ask such a basic question after using Inventor for as long as I have.
Thanks for the help.
Phil Quenzi
*Germer, Ole
Message 2 of 5 (47 Views)

Re: "Measure Distance" problems

11-25-2002 10:12 PM in reply to: pquenzi
I often do a sketch and project edges to that
sketch to measure distances. 

 


 

 

style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
must say, the "measure distance" command is not very good. I was hoping that
by R6, it would have been improved.
I have a simple sketch that consists
of two lines tangent to an arc and would like to measure the total length of
the lines plus arc without measuring them individually and using a calculator.
I have tried using the "add to accumulate" feature to no avail.
Is there
some way to do this. I can't believe I have to ask such a basic question after
using Inventor for as long as I have.
Thanks for the help.
Phil
Quenzi
*Keller, Kent
Message 3 of 5 (47 Views)

Re: "Measure Distance" problems

11-26-2002 12:28 AM in reply to: pquenzi
I haven't spent a whole lot of time with this program, but you might check out "The Ruler"
VBA program on my site

http://www.mymcad.com/KWiK/mcad.htm in the iCode section

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"pquenzi" wrote in message news:f1276b7.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I must say, the "measure distance" command is not very good. I was hoping that by R6, it
would have been improved.
> I have a simple sketch that consists of two lines tangent to an arc and would like to
measure the total length of the lines plus arc without measuring them individually and
using a calculator. I have tried using the "add to accumulate" feature to no avail.
> Is there some way to do this. I can't believe I have to ask such a basic question after
using Inventor for as long as I have.
> Thanks for the help.
> Phil Quenzi
*Rutman, Nathan
Message 4 of 5 (47 Views)

Re:

11-26-2002 12:38 AM in reply to: pquenzi
No, it won't accumulate. But I think there is an example VBA program in the
docs that does do just that, if my memory serves...


"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:67BFC574A8E13AEF94E83EAF28B232DB@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I haven't spent a whole lot of time with this program, but you might check
out "The Ruler"
> VBA program on my site
>
> http://www.mymcad.com/KWiK/mcad.htm in the iCode section
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "pquenzi" wrote in message
news:f1276b7.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I must say, the "measure distance" command is not very good. I was
hoping that by R6, it
> would have been improved.
> > I have a simple sketch that consists of two lines tangent to an arc and
would like to
> measure the total length of the lines plus arc without measuring them
individually and
> using a calculator. I have tried using the "add to accumulate" feature to
no avail.
> > Is there some way to do this. I can't believe I have to ask such a basic
question after
> using Inventor for as long as I have.
> > Thanks for the help.
> > Phil Quenzi
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 5 of 5 (47 Views)

Re:

11-26-2002 03:20 AM in reply to: pquenzi
Thanks Kent, I'll check it out.
Phil
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.