Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
BL4849
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 1 of 11 (434 Views)
Accepted Solution

"include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblies

434 Views, 10 Replies
10-03-2013 05:18 AM

Inventor 2013

 

Issue: Using Parts created with "As Application surfaces" (only to aid positioning in assemblies). Main assembly built up from sub assemblies which include these parts have the issue on the displaye views in the drawing. When creating drawing views of the Main assembly the application surfaces cannot be hidden by deselecting the "Include All Surfaces" option on each assembly view.

 

They can be hidden as, shown with an assembly made up only of parts.

 

See Pics

 

Any ideas?

 

Hi,

 

can you please try/verify your view is NOT using Associative design view? Please, RMB on the VIEW13 ->Edit View...->Uncheck Associative checkbox.

 

Thanks

Ladislav

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 2 of 11 (422 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 06:19 AM in reply to: BL4849

Hi!

 

Yes, it's painfull somethimes.

 

 

What I used to do:

Make some reprresentation views in the assembly and hide the surface parts. Then create your views based in that represention views.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

 

 

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Contributor
BL4849
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 3 of 11 (417 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

Not sure what you mean.  How do you "hide the surfaces" in the 3D assembly ?  The "surface parts" are part of individual parts. 



Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 4 of 11 (406 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: BL4849

Hi!

 

Even worst... you have to go to the parts, edit, and turn the surfaces invisible... save and check again.

 

To avoid this issues, when no long need the surfaces as references, I turn them nvisible immediatly

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Jefkee
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 5 of 11 (397 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

Why did they do this anyways? in 2012 this wasnt a problem?

Inventor 2013
Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 6 of 11 (393 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: Jefkee

Have You all service packs installed?

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Contributor
BL4849
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 7 of 11 (359 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-03-2013 11:24 PM in reply to: ccarreiras

Latest (update2) installed.

 

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 8 of 11 (348 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-04-2013 02:16 AM in reply to: BL4849

Hi!

 

 You´re trying to do this in the assembly, but the surfaces are in the parts. Do it in the parts which  have surfaces or open the parts and turn the surfaces features visibility off.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Contributor
BL4849
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 9 of 11 (344 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-04-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

I know what you mean.  Its not really practical since I have 40+ repititions of some  parts (each with several surfaces) in the sub assembly.

The only way is to manually turn each individual surface by editing the part in the sub assembly of the main assembly.

 

I was hoping there was a "one click" solution.

 

 

 

Employee
t_pcoll
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎12-11-2006
Message 10 of 11 (327 Views)

Re: "include All Surfaces" in drawing with Assembly with Sub assemblie

10-04-2013 04:20 AM in reply to: BL4849

Hi,

 

can you please try/verify your view is NOT using Associative design view? Please, RMB on the VIEW13 ->Edit View...->Uncheck Associative checkbox.

 

Thanks

Ladislav

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.