Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Putting a hole into a curved surface

30 REPLIES 30
Message 1 of 31
wiggi
899 Views, 30 Replies

Putting a hole into a curved surface

Hi

I am new to inventor and I am trying to create one of my first components having had no lessons. I have managed to create the component for a camera stableiser for my A-Level project. I need to put a hole through the flat section on the curve in the middle about 20mm from the end on the bottom that goes all the way through the material for a bolt. I have watched lots of videos and webpages and have not worked out what i need to do. I have attached the file any help would be greatly appreciated.

30 REPLIES 30
Message 2 of 31
mdavis22569
in reply to: wiggi

Untitled.png

like this?

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

---------
Mike Davis

EESignature

Message 3 of 31
LT.Rusty

First off, you're doing WAY too much work here.

While I understand that you're trying to do this entirely self-taught - and I really do understand this, as that's how I got started with Inventor as well - there's no crime in getting some basic tutorials.  Look for posts on here by JD Mather.  Go through the tutorials in his sig line.  They will REALLY help you out a lot with your basic modeling techniques.  I very much recommend doing this, and then going step by step through every single one of them.  (Granted, they're from an older version of Inventor, so things will look a little different, but the tools will still work pretty much the same way.)