Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Forumhelp2012
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 1 of 9 (581 Views)

Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

581 Views, 8 Replies
10-11-2012 05:10 AM

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Please take a look at part 4 model.

I have created a sketch on view XX plane.

Project Cut Edges is available to use.

I try using it but not getting the correct response compared to U-Tube video tutorial. Please See URL attached.

Can you explain why I can't get the Cut Edges on my model part.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBu3UjXG_cM&list=PLMuTLDS9lopJfXVW7J13c7d-ccrMZTUAK&index=1&feature=p...

 

U-Tube tutorial is called "Emergency Light Cabinet" Inventor. Volume 1.

Time stamp for video is 1 hour 48mins 25 seconds.

 

Kind regards

A CAD Student.

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 2 of 9 (567 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 06:32 AM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

Seems to work fine for me can you post more details? Also, just a recomendation... Keep your sketches around the origin, unless there was some kind of design intent i missed with your work plane1. How did work plane1 become addaptive anyways? It is the first feature in the tree...

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Contributor
Forumhelp2012
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 3 of 9 (556 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

Hello

What I meant before is I am creating a new sketch on the XY plane. Then Project the Geometry by using the Cut Edges command which when I then click the part it comes up with an error message.

 

Failed to project cut edges.

Project Cut Edges did not produce any output geometry.

Sketch 10: Problems occurred while building this sketch.

 

This is what I still get can you suggest what I am doing wrong compared to the video.

 

Kind regards

A CAD Student.

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 9 (549 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

I dont know then. It works for me...

 

forumhelp2012.PNG

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,610
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 9 (543 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

Forumhelp2012 wrote:

What I meant before is I am creating a new sketch on the XY plane.


I do not see this Sketch10 in your file.

(don't need to actually sketch or project anything.

just start the sketch, exit sketch save and post)


It works fine on my machine with your file following the video - the only thing I can assume is you started the sketch on the wrong plane (the assembly plane by chance? since there is no sketch in the file).

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
Forumhelp2012
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 6 of 9 (529 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: JDMather

Hello:

I dont understand how I cant do it after creating sketch 10 in the XY plane project cut edges is there to use but when I pick my part it comes up with the errors. I am able to slice the graphics where the cut edges need to be but its not doing it, I just get the errors.

 

I have saved it now after I have created the sketch.

To see if it will still work with you please.

 

Kind regards

A CAD Student.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,610
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (525 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

That is really strange - looks like a bug in 2013 to me.

 

I got the error.

Assumed your sketch was on wrong plane so drew a circle.

Saw that your sketch was on correct plane so tried Project Cut Edges again and it worked this time?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
Forumhelp2012
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 8 of 9 (516 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: JDMather

Hello:

I just projected them individually.

Kind regards

A CAD Student

 

Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 9 of 9 (489 Views)

Re: Project Cut Edges no work WHY??

10-11-2012 07:18 PM in reply to: Forumhelp2012

It looks really strange, and the error will show when creating project cut edge. If one sketch circle is created first, then creating project cut edge, it works fine. Please see the attached image. Anyway this issue has been logged as 1475822 in our tracking system.

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.