Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
sewtecphil
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
Message 1 of 7 (399 Views)

Problems with 3D model Rotation

399 Views, 6 Replies
10-22-2012 07:10 AM

When I try to rotate a 3D model the model visually loses parts, I have spoken to our Autodesk support team, who are looking into it, The system we have on test is a Core i7 Extreme with 16Gb Ram and an Nvidia Quadro 4000 2Gb Graphics card, small models are rotatable, however large models More than 10000 parts are losing parts when we try to rotate,

 

To try and figure this out I did a base install of Inventor 2013, on a freshly prepped machine, this issue still occurs.

 

Apparently our autodesk support people are able to rotate this drawing absolutely fine on a lesser spec'd machine.

 

we are using the recommended nvidia drivers, win 7 64 bit.

 

Any help much appreciated.

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 7 (361 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: sewtecphil

What is your setting in Application Options > Hardware?

Member
sewtecphil
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
Message 3 of 7 (359 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 04:32 AM in reply to: sbixler
Performance, I have tried all the other options too. Regards -- Phil Crowder Software Developer [MCITP(rgb)_1085_1315]
Active Member
ystrm
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 4 of 7 (354 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 04:35 AM in reply to: sewtecphil

Happens to me too, with large assemblys.

Have your visual style as Shaded, That's the option that require least "power" from your computer. Having the outlines visible is not optimal in these cases. If that doesn't work, check your hardware options to optimize your workflow.

 

/JY

Member
sewtecphil
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
Message 5 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 04:38 AM in reply to: ystrm
I had the shaded box ticked, on the display tab, you will have to excuse me, I'm IT rather than Designer, and display edges is not ticked. Can you define optimise hardware options for workflow? Regards -- Phil Crowder Software Developer [MCITP(rgb)_1085_1315]
Active Member
ystrm
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 6 of 7 (350 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 04:43 AM in reply to: sewtecphil

Well, in application options, Hardware Tab, you can check Performance. That's what I've done. But the problem without disappearing parts doesn't bother me that much, when I stop spinning my model, all the parts are visible again.

But try to check the performance option and see if it does any difference to you

 

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 7 of 7 (333 Views)

Re: Problems with 3D model Rotation

10-23-2012 05:12 AM in reply to: sewtecphil

If your models return to normal when you stop rotating then I don't think it's a bug; I think it's just Inventor's way of cheating to get good frame rates. SolidWorks always had a tenancy on my old machine to turn all of my geometery into big ugly "bricks" when I rotated large or complex models. They always returned to normal when I stopped rotating though.

 

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.