Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
dmitrimang
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 1 of 4 (208 Views)

Problem with inventor and JT

208 Views, 3 Replies
05-20-2013 01:08 PM

Hi

 

I have a JT file which I've opened in the latest trial of Inventor. I'm trying to export any STP, DWG, IGS of the contents of the JT (which display perfectly within Inventor) but nothing is ever exported. The resulting files seem blank. I've tried importing them into both Maya (dwg) and Rhino (stp, iges, dwg). Do I need to do anything in Inventor to get the meshes exported?

 

Thanks

Employee
wilkhui
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 2 of 4 (182 Views)

Re: Problem with inventor and JT

05-21-2013 04:03 AM in reply to: dmitrimang

Hi Dmitri,

 

Sorry to hear that you're having trouble. What version of Inventor are you using? Are you able to post the file with which you're working? If not, feel free to email me the part: inderjeet [dot] wilkhu [at] autodesk [dot] com

 

Thanks,

Indy



Inderjeet Wilkhu
SQA Engineer
Autodesk ShapeManager
Design, Lifecycle and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,271
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 4 (173 Views)

Re: Problem with inventor and JT

05-21-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: dmitrimang

Have you tried looking at any of the option settings before exporting the file?  Seeing if there are settings that might give you different results?

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

 

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

 

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 4 (146 Views)

Re: Problem with inventor and JT

06-06-2013 11:04 PM in reply to: dmitrimang

Hi dmitrimang,

 

Thanks for reporting here !

 

I suppose your JT file has only mesh data, and it cannot be exported to STEP, IGES format, so you will see no data exported.

 

I don't have the perfect workaround for you now instead of some suggestion, you can contact the JT file provider to provide the JT file which has Brep data, then open it in inventor and export to STEP or IGES, it should work.

 

If this JT file is not very complex, you can use Inventor addin mesh enabler to convert mesh to Brep (solid or composite), then export it to STEP or IGES. You can download Mesh Enabler tool from  http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/inventor_mesh and have a try, it is free.

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Quality Assurance Team

Autodesk, Inc.

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.