Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem trying to import a dxf file of a simple gear to extrude in inventor 2013

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Gargole
1372 Views, 3 Replies

problem trying to import a dxf file of a simple gear to extrude in inventor 2013

Hello,

I just started learning inventor and tried to make a first sketch and use import acad file. I have a simple gear in dxf. It took some time to show up in the sketch. When i selected the gear inventor freezes. I closed the sketch to make an extrusion and inventor freezes again.

I originally started with inventor 2014 and had same problems. So decided to do a step back to 2013 thinking 2014 was too heavy for my pc.

My pc is a i7-930 3.2ghz with 6gb ram1600mhz and win7 64bit with a ati radeon 5970 gpu. i installed service pack 1 and 2 and all other updates for 2013.

I think my dxf file is the cause. Its made out of all little lines/curves etc... btw in rhino i have no problems extruding this dxf at all.

Must i do something to clean up the dxf first for importing to inventor?

Could someone shine a light on this? Thanks! Appreciated.

I attached the dxf where its all about. The second dxf i have the same problems. When imported and try to work with it inventor freezes/becomes super slow and says not responding.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Mark_Wigan
in reply to: Gargole

yep Gargole, you are onto it...

there are many small elements that inventor is likely constraining for you (default option).