Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 1 of 11 (304 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problem to get parameter from ipt file

304 Views, 10 Replies
08-08-2012 12:18 PM

I created a *.iam file. And from this asembly file, I need run some rules in *.ipt file.

I use

Parameter("PartA:1", "d12") = d12

to give d12 parameter in my assembly to d12 parameter in *.ipt. It works.

 

But I need get parameter in the *.ipt file after running the rules in *.ipt.

 

so, I put 

 

d13 = Parameter("PartA:1", "d13")

 

following above line.

 

But everytime, I just be able to get the result before *.ipt run the rules, not after.

 

I noticed the rules in assembly were compeletely run, then run the rules in *.ipt. So, the result is not correct.

 

Could somebody help to solved this issue?

 

I am using Inventor 2009 with ilogic. XP OS.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory

Finally, I found the reason and solution.

 

Original code, I used 7

Parameter("PartA:1", "d12") = d12

to transfer information.

 

This may cause the trouble.

 

Now, I combined this 7 parameter together to transfer information, it works fine now.

 

Sometimes, solution is so simple.

 

And I do not know whether new version could use many parameter to transfer information.

I found the real solution is I have to check "Fire Dependent rules immediately" option. Otherwise, it does not update

*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 2 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-08-2012 07:12 PM in reply to: zdhrichard

From what I can tell you are trying to pull d13 back from your part into your assembly after the part updates. In that case all your code should be in the assembly, not the part file, just like the below.

 

Parameter("PartA:1", "d12") = d12
d13 = Parameter("PartA:1", "d13")

 Works for me if I make d13 in the part a function of d12, it then updates the d13 in the assembly to match after the part is updated.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 3 of 11 (255 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

Sorry, I made a mistake in my description. In fact, what I used for second line is as following:

 

d13 = iProperties.MaterialOfComponent("PartA:1")

d14 = iProperties.Value ("PartA:1", "Summary", "Title")

 

and so on.

 

I cannot get correct updated d13 & d14.

 

And I just testes, even I use

d13 = Parameter("PartA:1", "d13")

I cannot get the updated value.

 

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 4 of 11 (251 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 05:34 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

2013. Try add the below after the first line of code. I don't have access to 2009 so I can't test it.

 

InventorVb.DocumentUpdate()

 

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 5 of 11 (249 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 05:43 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

I tried, it does not work too.

In fact, I tried

iLogicVb.UpdateWhenDone= True

RuleParametersOutput()

InventorVb.DocumentUpdate()

 

and so on, still does not work.

 

Maybe it is a bug in 2009. 

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 6 of 11 (244 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

Possibly, 2009 was pretty basic, a lot has changed since then with iLogic. Maybe an iLogic guru will comment.

 

Why are you on such old software anyway? Multi-body was introduced in 2010, among other enhancements since then that would easily enhance your productivity way more than the cost of the software.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 7 of 11 (235 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

For software, it is decided by IT department of company.

In fact, we plan to update to latest version of Inventor and Vault. Even we got all software and new computer, but it looks like there are some trouble to move everything from 2009 (32 bits) to 2013 (64 bits), especially for Vault.

Out IT is still test them before we could use it.

 

We tried move Vault to 2010 one month ago, our database is crashed which made use cannot work for almost one week.

 

Still, there are some issue did not fixed by AutoDesk for move 2009 (32 bits) to 2013 (64 bits) Inventor and Vault.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 8 of 11 (223 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-09-2012 06:28 PM in reply to: zdhrichard

Engineering software decisions should always be dictated by the engineering department, period. It is the responsibility of the IT department to handle deployment only. If engineering management hasn't already changed these systems then I would look for a new job - easier than fighting the system.

 

Other companies have managed to migrate to the new software, have you opened up a supprt request with Autodesk on this matter?

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 9 of 11 (209 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-10-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

Thanks lot for your words, Stew. You have very good point.

 

As I mentioned, we got all softwares and new computers.

 

But

 

Vault has trouble to move date from 32 bits to 64 bits so far. Even Autodesk, cannot help us fix this issue yet.

 

And besides Inventor, we need use other software which is built on Inventor, if moving to latest of Inventor, that software does not work.

 

Eveything is not so easy. If we just think our engineering, everything will be mess up as we tried move to 2010 Vault but we almost lost all of our date. Just one version different, no more than say from 2009 to 2012 or 2013.

 

New software is good, but you need think whether it is compateible with other softwares. Before you use it, you need lot of testing.

 

I understand our IT department.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 10 of 11 (193 Views)

Re: Problem to get parameter from ipt file

08-10-2012 12:33 PM in reply to: zdhrichard

Finally, I found the reason and solution.

 

Original code, I used 7

Parameter("PartA:1", "d12") = d12

to transfer information.

 

This may cause the trouble.

 

Now, I combined this 7 parameter together to transfer information, it works fine now.

 

Sometimes, solution is so simple.

 

And I do not know whether new version could use many parameter to transfer information.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.