Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 1 of 14 (465 Views)

Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

465 Views, 13 Replies
10-29-2012 05:45 AM

I tried to save my work after getting the mesh generated successfully. But every time I tried to save it my inventor closes without giving me any option. I tried with different mesh size but the problem remains the same. How can I solve this problem. If anybody has any idea please do share. 

 

I appreciate your help.Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,616
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 14 (461 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-29-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: marcusb

Can you reproduce this problem with a simple cube or cylinder?

 

Have you installed SP1.1?

 

Can you attach the file here (the one saved before creating mesh)?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 3 of 14 (454 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-29-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: JDMather

I believe  SP1 has been installed automatically with the inventor installation. But if not how can I check whether it is installed in my local machine?

 

Attached is a picture of the model I am working on. What is the maximum mesh size I can easily simulate? Because I tried with higher mesh number and it crashes.

 

Thanks in advance.

Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 4 of 14 (441 Views)

Forgot to mention

10-29-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: marcusb

I forgot to mention that I installed the update version 2 after installing autodesk 2013 as version 2 was released and I did not update version 1.Looking forward for your reply.

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 5 of 14 (433 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-29-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: marcusb

Click the question mark in the upper right hand corner of the screen then select about inventor to find out what service packs you have installed.

 

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Employee
henderh
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 6 of 14 (423 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-29-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: marcusb

Hi Marcusb,

 

  If possible, could you email the assembly that closes Inventor upon saving after the mesh is generated?

 

  hughDOThendersonATautodeskDOTcom

 

  If I can reproduce it, I will ask Development to investigate what is the cause, and how to prevent this from occuring.

 

  Our apologies for the inconvenience this is causing.

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 7 of 14 (378 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-30-2012 04:34 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

I am on that mentioned place. But I could not find the SP1 or related. I got 

Usage type:

License expiration:

Serial Number:

Lincense Behavior:

 

And I have product Information such as

 

License name:

Serial number:

License type:

License behavior:

License ID:

Coputer host name:

Product key:

License usage type:

License expiration date:

License model:

 

But where can I find whether SP1 is installed or not?

 

Thanks in advance.

Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 8 of 14 (376 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-30-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: henderh

I got an assembly file which is big one. I am wondering if I email you the assembly file will you be able to open it as it has lot of part file from the local machine. Looking forward to your reply.

 

Last day I run the simulation and leave it running over night.This morning when I steeped in I saw "not responding" on the software and I could not do anything. So I had to restart my machine. Now I have to tyr it again from the begining. Do you have any idea that the problem starts for the mesh size or computer configuration. I got 12 GB ram and 4 multicore processor but when I start my simulation I can not do any other work.

 

Looking forward to your reply.

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,616
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 14 (365 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-30-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: marcusb

When you go to Help>About you should see this.

 

From your picture it looks like you still have fasteners in your assembly.  Have you excluded them from the analysis?

 

You never answered my question about reproducing this issue on a single cube or cylinder.

What is it you need to know about your assembly?  Perhaps the problem can be dramatically simplified to obtain the information you need.

 

But first thing is to verify that you can analyze a single siimple part, then a simple assembly.  Once it is confirmed that FEA works correclty on your machine then strategies to simplify analysis as appropriate can be examined.

 

SP1.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
marcusb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 10 of 14 (357 Views)

Re: Problem facing with stress analysis in 2013 version

10-30-2012 05:43 AM in reply to: JDMather

First picture is about the product info I found from Inventor. I could not find the SP1 as I said earlier.What should I do now?

 

I just tried to do some test simulation with a simple bolt. I was able to generate the mesh and run the simulation and also save it in the local machine. 

 

Second and third picture I attached for your concern. I did not get the question you asked me about the fastner. Because I did the simulation before with all this nut and bolt and results were ok. 

 

Looking forward to your reply. Thanks in advance.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.