Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Post 1 of 12

Problem creating a loft

684 Views, 11 Replies
08-12-2012 07:36 AM

I am making a design for a centrifugal water pump, the rotor was no problem, but I'm having some trouble designing the top case. I thought it would be easiest to create the channel for the water outlet using a loft feature. I attached the ipt. there are two sketches, and I need a loft from the small to the large one, all the way around the circle. when you see it you'll probably understand what the result should be, but, no matter what I try, either I get an oddly shaped loft, or an error. I am not experienced with inventor, so the problem will probably be me, but how should I make this loft? thanks in advance.

Mentor
596 Posts
25 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Post 2 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: DanielBakker

Hi Daniel

 

seems to work for me in inv 2013, use the centre or area command in loft.

 

regards adrian

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Post 3 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

That seems to be a lot better than what I have gotten so far. I'm using inventor 2012. could you upload your lofted file? Thanks! 

Mentor
596 Posts
25 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Post 4 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: DanielBakker

sure try this, although it is done in inv 2013

 

A

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Post 5 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

I took a closer look to your file, and unfortunately it seems you've got the same problem as I do: at first sight the loft looks fine, but when you look closely, you see that it isn't attached to the middle part, there is a weird twist in it from front to end. when you look in the transition tab in the loft properties you see that inventor doesn't pick the correct points to match from both sketches. when I change the points manually I get an error... any idea on how to solve this? Thanks!

Mentor
596 Posts
25 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Post 6 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: DanielBakker

sorry i didn't look to close, hows this?

A

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Post 7 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: DanielBakker

That's it! perfect. I'll see if I can get an upgrade to 2013, thanks again!

Mentor
596 Posts
25 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Post 8 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: DanielBakker

did you notice i edited your two sketches?

 

A

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-12-2012
Post 9 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: DanielBakker

no, haven't seen that yet.  I don't have inventor 2013 (yet), so I can only open it with viewer. but thanks for the note, I'll see what you changed so I know what to do next time!

Mentor
596 Posts
25 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Post 10 of 12

Re: Problem creating a loft

08-12-2012 12:33 PM in reply to: DanielBakker

how about this in V12

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post