Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Johnson, Bob
Message 1 of 14 (407 Views)

Print screen?

407 Views, 13 Replies
11-12-2002 08:30 AM
Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows 2K
Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW, would
installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
Thanks, Bob
*AutoCOL
Message 2 of 14 (407 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 08:38 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
just press the Print Screen button on your keyboard, then go into MSPaint or
whatever and press Paste (CTRL-V)....

installing SP's is recommended, for sure... (if for nothing else but
security).
*Jaquith, Walt
Message 3 of 14 (407 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 08:41 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Try this; it should work...

Get your screen looking the way you want it (mind where your mouse curser is
placed), then: Control+Print Screen. This sends the screen image to
clipboard. Open MS Paint, and paste as a new document. Then you can print
from there. The old Print Screen command was a DOS thing; Windows takes an
extra step.

As for the SPs, I've always kept current on them. I know with earlier
versions of Inventor that having the latest Windows service packs helped
performance. I assume it's still true.

Cheers,
Walt

"Bob Johnson" wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:B8D7A6620E75C6CDDEB54179620E216@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows 2K
> Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW, would
> installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
> Thanks, Bob
>
>
*Glenn
Message 4 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 09:37 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:

To make a copy of only the active window,
press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.

To copy the entire screen as it appears on your monitor,
press PRINT SCREEN.

The CTRL key seems like a no-op in this case
(i.e., CTRL+PRINT SCREEN = PRINT SCREEN).

Glenn

"Walt Jaquith" wrote in message
news:B729B851B2AA1EC2E30C907CD7D212FB@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Try this; it should work...
>
> Get your screen looking the way you want it (mind where your mouse curser
is
> placed), then: Control+Print Screen. This sends the screen image to
> clipboard. Open MS Paint, and paste as a new document. Then you can
print
> from there. The old Print Screen command was a DOS thing; Windows takes
an
> extra step.
>
> As for the SPs, I've always kept current on them. I know with earlier
> versions of Inventor that having the latest Windows service packs helped
> performance. I assume it's still true.
>
> Cheers,
> Walt
>
> "Bob Johnson" wrote in message
> news:smileyvery-happy:B8D7A6620E75C6CDDEB54179620E216@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows
2K
> > Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW,
would
> > installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
> > Thanks, Bob
> >
> >
>
>
*Yeandle, Laurence
Message 5 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 03:52 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Use this to make a copy of your application options settings, then if you
crash or reinstall you have an easy copy.
--
Laurence,

Power is nothing without Control
---


"Glenn" wrote in message
news:75A7D51B2BEB40A9FF87C1E84CEDDA3D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:
>
> To make a copy of only the active window,
> press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.

> Glenn
Distinguished Contributor
jiml
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 6 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 11:39 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
or get snagit I love snagit
see it at http://www.techsmith.com
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 7 of 14 (407 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 11:56 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
To do a print screen of a dialog box press Alt+Print Scrn and then paste the image where you want it.

MechMan
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 11:58 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
I do this for most of my software that I have customized settings for. Create a Word document (for example) and Alt+Prt Scrn from the app settings to the Word doc. Quick and easy.

MechMan
*Jaquith, Walt
Message 9 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 12:00 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Oops. You're right. A long time ago, I saw an IT guy Ctrl+Print Screen,
and I've been doing it every since.

Funny, some of the stuff we 'know' sometimes. Sorry about the bad info.

Walt

"Glenn" wrote in message
news:75A7D51B2BEB40A9FF87C1E84CEDDA3D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:
>
> To make a copy of only the active window,
> press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.
>
> To copy the entire screen as it appears on your monitor,
> press PRINT SCREEN.
>
> The CTRL key seems like a no-op in this case
> (i.e., CTRL+PRINT SCREEN = PRINT SCREEN).
>
> Glenn
>
*Keller, Kent
Message 10 of 14 (407 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 12:19 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Or if you are on a budget try http://www.mirekw.com/ MW Snap Does nearly everything I
need from a screen capture program. 8^)

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"jiml" wrote in message news:f122a45.4@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> or get snagit I love snagit
> see it at http://www.techsmith.com
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.