Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Johnson, Bob
Message 1 of 14 (417 Views)

Print screen?

417 Views, 13 Replies
11-12-2002 08:30 AM
Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows 2K
Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW, would
installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
Thanks, Bob
*AutoCOL
Message 2 of 14 (417 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 08:38 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
just press the Print Screen button on your keyboard, then go into MSPaint or
whatever and press Paste (CTRL-V)....

installing SP's is recommended, for sure... (if for nothing else but
security).
*Jaquith, Walt
Message 3 of 14 (417 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 08:41 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Try this; it should work...

Get your screen looking the way you want it (mind where your mouse curser is
placed), then: Control+Print Screen. This sends the screen image to
clipboard. Open MS Paint, and paste as a new document. Then you can print
from there. The old Print Screen command was a DOS thing; Windows takes an
extra step.

As for the SPs, I've always kept current on them. I know with earlier
versions of Inventor that having the latest Windows service packs helped
performance. I assume it's still true.

Cheers,
Walt

"Bob Johnson" wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:B8D7A6620E75C6CDDEB54179620E216@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows 2K
> Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW, would
> installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
> Thanks, Bob
>
>
*Glenn
Message 4 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 09:37 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:

To make a copy of only the active window,
press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.

To copy the entire screen as it appears on your monitor,
press PRINT SCREEN.

The CTRL key seems like a no-op in this case
(i.e., CTRL+PRINT SCREEN = PRINT SCREEN).

Glenn

"Walt Jaquith" wrote in message
news:B729B851B2AA1EC2E30C907CD7D212FB@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Try this; it should work...
>
> Get your screen looking the way you want it (mind where your mouse curser
is
> placed), then: Control+Print Screen. This sends the screen image to
> clipboard. Open MS Paint, and paste as a new document. Then you can
print
> from there. The old Print Screen command was a DOS thing; Windows takes
an
> extra step.
>
> As for the SPs, I've always kept current on them. I know with earlier
> versions of Inventor that having the latest Windows service packs helped
> performance. I assume it's still true.
>
> Cheers,
> Walt
>
> "Bob Johnson" wrote in message
> news:smileyvery-happy:B8D7A6620E75C6CDDEB54179620E216@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Trying to print a screen image of a Inventor dialog box. Using Windows
2K
> > Pro, no SP's. Looked in the windows help files, no help there? BTW,
would
> > installing the windows SP's improve inventor's performance?
> > Thanks, Bob
> >
> >
>
>
*Yeandle, Laurence
Message 5 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 03:52 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Use this to make a copy of your application options settings, then if you
crash or reinstall you have an easy copy.
--
Laurence,

Power is nothing without Control
---


"Glenn" wrote in message
news:75A7D51B2BEB40A9FF87C1E84CEDDA3D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:
>
> To make a copy of only the active window,
> press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.

> Glenn
Distinguished Contributor
jiml
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 6 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 11:39 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
or get snagit I love snagit
see it at http://www.techsmith.com
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 7 of 14 (417 Views)

Re: Print screen?

11-12-2002 11:56 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
To do a print screen of a dialog box press Alt+Print Scrn and then paste the image where you want it.

MechMan
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 11:58 PM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
I do this for most of my software that I have customized settings for. Create a Word document (for example) and Alt+Prt Scrn from the app settings to the Word doc. Quick and easy.

MechMan
*Jaquith, Walt
Message 9 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 12:00 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Oops. You're right. A long time ago, I saw an IT guy Ctrl+Print Screen,
and I've been doing it every since.

Funny, some of the stuff we 'know' sometimes. Sorry about the bad info.

Walt

"Glenn" wrote in message
news:75A7D51B2BEB40A9FF87C1E84CEDDA3D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I've got the following info from Windows 2000 Help:
>
> To make a copy of only the active window,
> press ALT+PRINT SCREEN.
>
> To copy the entire screen as it appears on your monitor,
> press PRINT SCREEN.
>
> The CTRL key seems like a no-op in this case
> (i.e., CTRL+PRINT SCREEN = PRINT SCREEN).
>
> Glenn
>
*Keller, Kent
Message 10 of 14 (417 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 12:19 AM in reply to: *Johnson, Bob
Or if you are on a budget try http://www.mirekw.com/ MW Snap Does nearly everything I
need from a screen capture program. 8^)

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"jiml" wrote in message news:f122a45.4@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> or get snagit I love snagit
> see it at http://www.techsmith.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.