Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
drhoads51
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Message 1 of 6 (959 Views)

Precise Input toolbar

959 Views, 5 Replies
03-19-2012 07:07 AM

One of my students has moved their precise input toolbar. How do I bring it back?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,586
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 6 (958 Views)

Re: Precise Input toolbar

03-19-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: drhoads51

Why are you using Precise Input toolbar?
I recommend you forget you ever saw it.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
drhoads51
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Message 3 of 6 (955 Views)

Re: Precise Input toolbar

03-19-2012 07:37 AM in reply to: JDMather

I'm using it because we are teaching the coordinate system and basic graphing.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,586
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 6 (944 Views)

Re: Precise Input toolbar

03-19-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: drhoads51

I suspect that there might be a better technique.
Attach the assignment here.

 

You have not indicated what environment you are in or any screen shots or other information.

Assuming 2D sketch environment - edit the sketch (or start a new sketch as appropriate).

Start one of the sketch commands (like line).
Click on the down arrow next to Draw (wait a minute - you did say you are using 2010 or later with Ribbon Interface?).

You should see command for Precise Input (this can be promoted to main tab if desired).

 

Precise Input.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
richpark
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2012
Message 5 of 6 (822 Views)

Re: Precise Input toolbar

12-18-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: drhoads51

The nput fields have dissappeared from the Precise Input bar.  They worked fine yessterday.

 

FYI - The reason we use the "precise input" is because it is part of the PLTW curriculum.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,586
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (808 Views)

Re: Precise Input toolbar

12-18-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: richpark

richpark wrote:

 

FYI - The reason we use the "precise input" is because it is part of the PLTW curriculum.



Whoever wrote that curriculum doesn't know what they are doing.  Find a better and more efficient technique.

 

I remember my first CAD class back in '87 of the last century.  First day we were taught to use similar technique (grid).  I turned it off next day and ignored any suggestions to use it.  Never looked back.

 

Post screen shot of what you are seeing with the Precise Input toolbar.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.