Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
Cadmanto
1459 Views, 13 Replies

Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

I have a situation where I have my master BOM that is shown on sheet 1 of my drawing that represents everything shown on the drawing.  What I am running into is I have to detail a couple of sub-assemblies as details on the drawing.

What I do is bring in views from that sub assembly seperate from the main assembly, but the problem is those items dont show up in the main BOM.  I end up having to drag in a second BOM that I place off of the drawing sheet as well as adding line items in the main BOM to represent these components in the sub assembly.  Then manually change the items numbers in the second BOM to match the iotem numbers in the main BOM.  What I would like to know is if it is at all possible to link the two BOM's together so I can change the item numbers in the main BOM and it funnels down to the second BOM.

I really hope this makes some sense.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
(Colossians 3:23-25)

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
japike
in reply to: Cadmanto

BOMs are part of the assembly model and parts lists are used on a drawing to document part or all of the BOM. You can use the BOM to control the item numbers of parts list. Is that what you are after?

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2022
Message 3 of 14
mrattray

I'm not following you. Pictures with a more thorough explanation would help.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Message 4 of 14
Cadmanto
in reply to: japike

Jeff,

I understand that.  I use the term BOM because the software I came from used that term.  I know that Inventor uses both terms in conjunction with each other.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden

Message 5 of 14

Hi Cadmanto,