Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
warren.ramsdale
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
Message 1 of 9 (1,251 Views)

Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

1251 Views, 8 Replies
08-11-2011 03:23 AM

Hi there,

is there a memory leak in 2012 Ultimate? I have one part open (300K size), about the size of you palm. if I open windows task manager and watch my memory usage, it creeps up as I rotate the part and never goes down again!!!

 

I'm using:

 

Dell Precision T3400

win7/64bit with 8gig memory

+ 3D Space explorer

 

Valued Contributor
MattH_Work
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎11-16-2007
Message 2 of 9 (1,238 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-11-2011 05:13 AM in reply to: warren.ramsdale

Not a memory leak, just the Rewind tool (see Steering Wheel) recording the camera position (pan, zoom & orbit).

F5 gets us the previous view, wheras the Rewind tool shows us the previous view in advance.

 

Regards

 

MattH

Active Contributor
warren.ramsdale
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
Message 3 of 9 (1,225 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-11-2011 06:04 AM in reply to: MattH_Work

Hmmm, That may be so but if you rewind and forward wind the memory usage still increases! plus, I never use that function anyway. so give it 5 minutes of rotating a part and I'll run out of memory! that's a major bug in my eyes!

I've also just uninstalled and re-installed incase something's been corrupted but no joy :smileysurprised:(

Thanks for your input.

Distinguished Contributor
SKinzel
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎06-12-2007
Message 4 of 9 (1,177 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-11-2011 02:36 PM in reply to: warren.ramsdale

When I changed from AutoCAD to Inventor 2010 (Windows XP 32 bit) I would have to reboot my computer a couple of times a day because I would eventually get memory errors even if Inventor was the only thing running.  It sure seemed like Inventor was grabbing memory and then not letting all of it go when it no longer needed it.  We were definately pushing that computer beyond its capacity with Inventor.

 

Because of this I was able to talk my boss into upgrading my computer and now I run Windows 7 64 bit with 8GB of RAM.  I haven't had any memory problems with Inventor Professional 2012.  I don't know if that is because of the 8GB, Windows 7 or Inventor.  Maybe you can get a new computer out of this?

Stuart Kinzel
Inventor 2013-64bit, HP EliteBook8740w Intel Core i5CPU 2.67 GHz
8GB memory
Windows 7 64bit
Active Contributor
warren.ramsdale
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
Message 5 of 9 (1,143 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-12-2011 01:45 AM in reply to: SKinzel

Weirdly.... Following a second total un-install and re-install cycle the problem seems to have gone ( So far!).... But I'll keep an eye on it to see if anything in particular triggers it. Very odd!

Distinguished Contributor
dodrain
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 6 of 9 (1,133 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-12-2011 03:40 AM in reply to: warren.ramsdale

For this reason i have disabled the REWIND tool in the Registry.  If you do a poll asking who uses the REWIND-tool the answer would be less than 10% of the designers do. I have asked Autodesk to provide a ON-OFF button for the rewind-tool in 2011, but they didn't answer and didn't put one in 2012, to bad.

 

Active Member
sgriffith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 7 of 9 (1,067 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

08-24-2011 12:40 PM in reply to: dodrain

Where is the registry key for this?

Active Member
kladden
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2008
Message 8 of 9 (777 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

02-01-2012 03:19 AM in reply to: warren.ramsdale

Is there a registry key to disabled the REWIND tool ?

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,204
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 9 (764 Views)

Re: Possible memory leak in 2012 ultimate?

02-01-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: kladden

A quick search found this post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Inventor-Memory-Issues/td-p/2743593/highlight/true/p...

 

Okay, I wasn't able to find anything to just turn off "Rewind".  But, if you're willing to use a bigger hammer, it can be turned off:

 

Under the registry go to:

HKCU\Software\Autodesk\Inventor\RegistryVersionX\S​ystem\Preferences\AliasNavTools

 

Create a new DWORD value and name it:

ANT Disable

 

Set its value to 1.

 

If one already exists just change its value from 0 to 1.

 

This will disable all of the new Nav Tools (ANT stands for "Alias Nav Tools").

 

Another workaround, to clear the rewind is to back up the rewind to the beginning. It then removes previous history and starts fresh.

 

Hope it helps.  Thanks,

- Matt

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.