Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Positioning features with parameter

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1743 Views, 6 Replies

Positioning features with parameter

Hello,

I'm fairly new to inventor, and have a problem/question. (so please keep answers understandable for newbie)

I want to be able to position certain features of my part on a relative distance to the (0,0) centerpoint using parameters, so that I can easily adapt the part when placing it in in assembly with "place iLocig component". This works just fine for positive coordinates, but when i want to place the feature below or left the center point ( type e.g. -5 in the parameter dialog box) inventor just ignores the minus.

I position the feature with the "dimension" button in sketch. I believe inventor ignores the minus because a dimension cant be negative.

Can anyone solve this without moving the centerpoint from its original position?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

Attach your file here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

thanks for your quick response!

here's the file. (thing is in dutch, sorry for that)

when you open the paramater dialog box, play with the X_shift_hartlijn value. typing 100 gives the same result as -100.

Message 4 of 7
JDMather

It sounds to me like you are trying to position a part in an assembly by changing the position of the part by the part's coordinate system within the part. 
If so, I don't think this is the way to do it (although I'm not entirely sure what you are doing).
I would use assembly constraints.