Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
lair360
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 41 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-27-2010 09:33 AM in reply to: lair360
Hi everyone! Durring the installation, I have reinstall my OS and update everything! I also tried to install Inventor 2008 Pro Trail (this copy only) and it got stuck again!

"registering inventor...'

Notes: I have to go into "Windows Task Manager" and close "Inventor.exe" services. Then. it succesfully install inventor 2008. However, now I have this stupid - idiot - maniac problem! It happens when I execute autodesk Inventor 2008.

"Inventor.exe needs to reregister with the operation system..."

So, how can I get this application to register itself with the operating system? Help here ASAP!!
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,207
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 42 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-27-2010 09:47 AM in reply to: lair360
>So, how can I get this application to register itself with the operating system? Help here ASAP!!

See attached.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
lair360
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 43 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-27-2010 09:59 AM in reply to: lair360
I've got that everytime and its not explorer.exe. Its just inventor.exe, itself that needs to be close!

This is what I got... its like a loop and I cannot see any splash screen!

"Inventor is reregistering and needs to complete registration before this program can run. Please close Inventor so it can complete reregistering before running this proram."

Any clue?? It cannot register itself with the operating system!
Active Member
hughpatterson
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-08-2008
Message 44 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-27-2010 08:01 PM in reply to: lair360
Greetings!

I'll put my thinking cap back on and see if I can figure something out to help you. Rest assured that someone here will be able to help you get this problem resolved. After all, we're here to help each other out! In the mean time, take a deep breath and try to look at the bright side, which is:

1. This problem can and will be solved.
2. You have your laptop to work on ( I use only laptops for my work since I have to travel).
3. You've got an entire world of Autodesk Inventor users working with you to fix this.
4. Lastly, driving yourself into a world of dire stress isn't worth it. This will be resolved.

Hugh
*Paul
Message 45 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-28-2010 04:48 AM in reply to: lair360

It may be the Registry, I use a little
free program, Revo Un-install, which clears out the registry entries
during uninstall, offhand it reports about 3000+ registry entries
referring to Autodesk Inventor, AutoCAD Mechanical, Vault, and other
subsidiarity and support programs connected to IV.



The other thing is that a background program that is running may be
causing this problem. Using Task Manager, Processes Tab, your going to
have to use best guess and judgement as to what programs to stop and
then try installing IV each time. I know boring and laborious, but if
it gets you there in the end wroth it.



hughpatterson wrote:

Wow, I've run Inventor 2005 through 2010 on all sorts of PCs and Laptops with problems. However, you may want to clean up your Reg files. If you don't want to go in and do it amnually, use a problem like CCleaner to do it. There could be a file stuck in there that is throwing the installation off. You shouldn't be stuck at the Registration screen unless there is something in the way of a corrupt file that is being routed by the installation process. When you uninstall the program, do a search for remaining related files. It sounds like the problem is with a corrupt file. If it was something bigger (in the way of a problem) you would get installtion error messages while the initial installation screen was up.




--






 








face="Times New Roman">If you are ever in doubt ASK



color="#3333ff">There
will always be some
one . . .







color="#cc0000">The
contents of this email and any attachment/s is/are confidential.
It/They may also be legally privileged or otherwise protected from
disclosure


color="#cc0000">This
email and any attachment/s may/should not be read by any person/s that
is/are not the intended recipient/s


color="#cc0000">This
email may not be forwarded, copied or disclosed in any way to any
person/s by the original intended recipient/s with out my prior written
or email consent, nor may it be copied or disclosed in any way to any
person/s by any person/s by any person/s that is/are not an intended
recipient/s


face="Times New Roman">If
you have
received this email and are not an
intended recipient/s or you have received this email or have been
forwarded a copy of this email from the original
intended
recipient/s
out
my prior written or email consent, or by mistake please notify me by
email, and then delete and copies from your system without delay





color="#3333ff">This
email
was scanned for all known Viruses, Malware and Spyware prior to it's
dispatch and on its journey through the BT/Yahoo system


Liability
cannot
and will not be accepted for any damage to your
computer or network for any lost, corrupted or compromised data cause
by any Viruses, Malware and Spyware







Valued Contributor
lair360
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 46 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-29-2010 04:19 AM in reply to: lair360
Did any of you got to these area and it got stuck? Please open the image and take a look for yourself!
I need advice here.... please??

The installation was left untouched for 4 hours already and there aren't any errors. All Net.Framework was installed and SQL 2008 SP1 was installed!

........this is insane. Why is Autodesk acting strange on my desktop and not on my laptop?
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,207
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 47 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-29-2010 04:33 AM in reply to: lair360
As a student why are you fooling with Inventor 2008? That is an ancient release in computer software terms. Inventor 2010 had many many significant additions in functionality. As a student you can get Inventor Professional 2010 for free. I would want to spend my time learning the latest technology.

You keep jumping from one release to another in this install issue. Why not concentrate on the latest release and forget the old stuff?

Does your school have a student IT Help Desk that can help you figure out how to install and activate your software?

Perhaps you could hire an experienced professional to help you get the software installed.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
lair360
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 48 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-29-2010 04:41 AM in reply to: lair360
Look... I am using inventor 2008 pro to test the installation only. I've installed it on these computer with different specs. All ATi 4000 series worked + Intel Core 2 Duo and Pentium D. So, why are you telling me that I am fooling around?? I am testing it and I've reinstalled my operating systems many times already! All inventor 2008 > 2010 still acts the same.... stuck at registering inventor. As you all said before... Intel i7 is supported and I am trying. I also updated my ATi Catalyste driver yesterday and still... no luck!

So... telling me to get a professional? Its the application inventor issue!

P.S. All version of Autodesk 3DS Max 2008, 2009 and 2010 worked on my i7 computer. But, why did Autodesk Inventor (All edition) refused to register inventor?

Now... answer the question!

Edited by: Discussion_Admin on Jan 29, 2010 5:39 PM
Valued Contributor
lair360
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-24-2010
Message 49 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-29-2010 05:00 AM in reply to: lair360
Ohhh... to make it clear... my computer can run Adobe CS4 master suit ran just fine. I also test some games. eg: Silent Hunter 4, GRID and starware empire at war gold edtion without problems. Get the point? There aren't any problems with my computer! I also replaced another two hard drive two days ago! They are all new and they ran @ 7200 rpm.

Net.Framework 1.1 Sp1
Net.Framwork 2.0 SP2
Net.Framework 3.0 SP2
Net.Framework 3.5 SP1
Visual C++ 2005
Visual C++ 2008
WSE 3.0 Runtime
Windows XP SP3

P.S. These are all installed on my laptop and desktop. So, there is no difference either... the only difference is the hardware....
Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 50 of 58 (442 Views)

Re: Please help! Autodesk inventor 2009 hangs at 'registering inventor'

01-29-2010 06:23 AM in reply to: lair360
Hi,
I may be asking a foolish question but didn't see any mention of it yet.
Do you have Excel installed and ran once before installing Inventor?
You need Excel to run run Inventor.
Doug
Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.