Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planetary gear set constraints

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
kgill147
4596 Views, 13 Replies

Planetary gear set constraints

Hi guys,

I'll start by saying I am self taught so there is most likely something I am missing that I could have learned in a thousand dollar class.  However, since I see a bunch of plantetary gear issues, I know I'm not the only one.  Reason I am posting a new question on this topic is because I think my gear set is a little different than the ones I keep seeing.  Hope you can help!

I have attached the .iam assembly and the .ipt parts are to follow. Hard to just explain this with words. (If you cant open this assembly, please let me know what else you need from me to be able to.)

First off, I'm not very concerned with the teeth meshing properly at this stage. I just want to get the rotational constraints correct first.  There are two situations that I am trying to work out, and I think I took care of the first one. Its the second which causes the problem.

Situation 1: Blue carrier is grounded.

Input: Rotate purple sun gear.

Result: red planets turn the orange planets which turn the green sun(green sun to purple sun ratio = 1:1 but in the opposite direction)

Situation 2: Purple sun is grounded (Blue carrier is released)

Input: rotate the blue carrier

Result: I want the planets to still be able to rotate, and basically be driven by the purple sun which is being held. This should then drive the green sun to rotate in the same direction as the blue carrier gears.