Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Karol-Or
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 1 of 9 (187 Views)

Placement of a part in an assembly

187 Views, 8 Replies
09-27-2013 07:17 AM

When i create a part in an assembly, i select a plane or face with the cursor, but then i select again a plane for the sketch.

Why this double selection, and what does the first selection do, if the part is actually sketched on the plane i selected in the second time

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 2 of 9 (181 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Hi!

 

The first selection create a constrain (Flush) between the two parts. This  ensure the two parts are connected by these faces. BUT... you can decide to start to model the part from other plane AND, you can always edit or delete the first flush, or add another constrains (i use a lot to reposition the axis, and to center the part) even before the first sketch! It's nice to be able to do this!!

Never think why the Origin axis are most of times not centered from the own solid when you create a part in the assembly enviroment? Now you have the tip, and you can have all the parts well centered to create better constrained sketches.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,000
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 9 (171 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Hi Karol-Or,

 

If you go to the Tools tab > Application Options button > Part tab, and look for the Sketch on new part creation option, and set it to automatically use one of the sketch planes (rather than No New Sketch), I think you'll see the behavior you're looking for.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Contributor
Karol-Or
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 4 of 9 (159 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

 I don't see the constraints you are talking about.

Attached is a simple assembly, no constarints.

 

Distinguished Contributor
Karol-Or
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 5 of 9 (143 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

I think i solved the problem.

The first selection determines the XY plane of the new part.

Attached is the same assembly, but with other parts.

See that the XY plane, in the Origin folders, of parts 18 and 20, is different, it aligns with different planes in the Origin folder of the assembly.

My only question, in this situation, and if it is true what i found, is what's the difference if the Constrain sketch plain to slected face or plane check box is selected, since the behaviour looks the same

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 6 of 9 (139 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Hi!

 

Maybe i misunderstand What you meant. You talked about create, but the title of the post is place. It's diferent things though.

 

What i meant was:

 

1 - When you create a part in assembly, you select a face. (1)

 

2 - The part exist now in the browser, but if you want to create the first sketch, you have to pick the plane again (same or another) (2)

 

3 -If you want to complete positioning the part in the assembly (after doing the first sketch), you can exit the edit mode and add constrains to the part (basically its only the origin folder: planes and axis in that time). You already have one... the flush (3), that was created when you picked the first plane when you created the part in step (1).

 

 solution.pngDid you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 973
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 7 of 9 (125 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 10:13 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

I don't understand your question...

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Karol-Or
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 8 of 9 (110 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

I don't have a flush constarint when creating a new part, i think i found the purpose, it is to align the XY plane of the new part, see my new message

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 897
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 9 of 9 (105 Views)

Re: Placement of a part in an assembly

09-27-2013 10:59 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Karol-Or wrote:

I don't have a flush constarint when creating a new part, i think i found the purpose, it is to align the XY plane of the new part, see my new message



In the dialog box for Create In-Place Component, there is a checkbox for "Constrain sketch plane to selected face or plane."  If this is checked, you get the Flush constraint.  If not, you don't.

 

If the part you are creating is the first part in the assembly, then the checkbox isn't present, but it grounds the part instead of adding a constraint..

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.