Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
conbuc
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 1 of 5 (407 Views)
Accepted Solution

Place a hole referenced from a plane instead of an edge.

407 Views, 4 Replies
10-19-2012 11:26 AM

I would like to use the hole command to place a hole in a part. When I place the hole it won't allow me to use one of the origin planes to locate the hole from. Can I only locate holes off edges?

Hi conbuc,

 

If you create a sketch on the plane and insert a sketch point, you can then create the hole from the sketch point using the hole tool.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 5 (404 Views)

Re: Place a hole referenced from a plane instead of an edge.

10-19-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: conbuc

Hi conbuc,

 

If you create a sketch on the plane and insert a sketch point, you can then create the hole from the sketch point using the hole tool.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 3 of 5 (393 Views)

Re: Place a hole referenced from a plane instead of an edge.

10-19-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

This is the only workflow I use for holes. I never liked using the hole command's dialog for defining the hole position in Inventor or SolidWorks.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 5 (357 Views)

Re: Place a hole referenced from a plane instead of an edge.

10-20-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: mrattray

mrattray wrote:

This is the only workflow I use for holes. I never liked using the hole command's dialog for defining the hole position in Inventor or SolidWorks.


I agree, with a couple of exceptions-- creating a sketch for a hole concentric to another circular feature is way more work and no improvement over using the Concentric placement option.  And once in a while, the Point option also saves a lot of work.

 

Active Contributor
conbuc
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 5 of 5 (307 Views)

Re: Place a hole referenced from a plane instead of an edge.

10-22-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: sbixler

Thank you all for the responses. I will use sketches to place or locate my holes.

 

It does suprise me however that Inventor would not allow the hole to be referenced off of edges AND/OR planes. Inventor already knows where the planes are and in many cases I want the holes to stay put based on the center of the part, not off one edge.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.