Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 1 of 9 (185 Views)

phantom images

185 Views, 8 Replies
01-27-2014 03:08 PM

In Inventor 2014 when I drive a constraint so several objects move to a new location, a phantom image of the obects will often remain showing in the orighinal positon of the objects (by phantom I mean lines with no shading). Is there some way to prevent that from happening? If I close the model and re open it the image is gone. Thanks, Phil

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,332
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (174 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-27-2014 03:37 PM in reply to: pquenzi
Try updating your graphics card drivers, most systems ship with very early release drivers. Also for IV0214 there a SP1 and updates 1 & 2 for SP1 that deal with graphics issues as well.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.06.109
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Valued Contributor
guido66
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎06-25-2007
Message 3 of 9 (147 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 01:17 AM in reply to: blair

I have the same issue, Inventor and my Graphics card driver (Quadro 4000 - driver 307.45) are up to date. 

Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 4 of 9 (132 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 06:44 AM in reply to: pquenzi

I installed SP1 and will see how it acts today. My graphics card is also NVIDIA Quadro 4000 version 9.18.13.697. Phil

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,332
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (116 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 09:49 AM in reply to: pquenzi
Current Microsoft certified Nvidia drivers are 331.82
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.06.109
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,172
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 10:29 AM in reply to: blair

blair wrote:
Current Microsoft certified Nvidia drivers are 331.82

Maybe...

All depends on which Quadro 4000 they have..

FX4000

4000M

etc...

 

sadly 307.45 is what Autodesk lists as approved in their list.. Proving that the Autodesk certification process/listing is absolutely pointless as there are multiple quadro 4000 users claiming issues now... 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,332
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 9 (104 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 11:00 AM in reply to: mcgyvr
Most current Quadro version for FX4000 Version: 307.45 WHQL Release Date: 2012.11.19 Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 8 64-bit, Windows Vista 64-bit Language: English (US) File Size: 196.00 MB
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.06.109
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 9 (100 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-28-2014 11:16 AM in reply to: pquenzi

After installing SP1 I just installed the latest graphics card driver which was 332.21 and no phantom images so far today. I will let you know if they show up again. Thanks for the help. Phil

Distinguished Contributor
pquenzi
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 9 of 9 (72 Views)

Re: phantom images

01-29-2014 02:25 PM in reply to: pquenzi

FYI,

After installing SP1 and new driver, phantom images do not appear as often but they still appear at times. Phil

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!