Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
selby
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎11-29-2005
Message 1 of 8 (1,030 Views)

PDF Printing Problem

1030 Views, 7 Replies
01-23-2008 07:05 AM
Using Photoshop CS3 and Adobe PDF CS3 I have the Adobe printing problem illustrated by the three shots in this attachment. The coloured elements in the 'drawing' image become horizontal stripes in the pdf 'print'. The same problem happens in the same way if I attempt a monochrome print.

And of course this new 'feature' happens just as a client is urgently awaiting a set of drawings for production approval!

Can anyone suggest the cure please?

Ralph Selby
*Blair Stunder
Message 2 of 8 (1,030 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

01-23-2008 08:32 AM in reply to: selby
Change the PDF setting for your Adobe "printer" from "Standard" to "High
Quality".

--
Dell 670 dual Xeon - 3.2
3gb memory, SCSI320-15k
XP-Pro, sp2
Quadro FX3400: Driver: 162.65 Direct3D
IV2008-pro sp2,
SpacePilot Rel V: 3.5.4 Dvr V: 6.4.4 Firmware 3.12

wrote in message news:5827995@discussion.autodesk.com...
Using Photoshop CS3 and Adobe PDF CS3 I have the Adobe printing problem
illustrated by the three shots in this attachment. The coloured elements in
the 'drawing' image become horizontal stripes in the pdf 'print'. The same
problem happens in the same way if I attempt a monochrome print.

And of course this new 'feature' happens just as a client is urgently
awaiting a set of drawings for production approval!

Can anyone suggest the cure please?

Ralph Selby
Distinguished Contributor
selby
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎11-29-2005
Message 3 of 8 (1,030 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

01-23-2008 04:04 PM in reply to: selby
Many thanks Blair - I'd just upgraded to CS3, seems the PDF module installs at its lowest setting!

Ralph
*Blair A. Stunder
Message 4 of 8 (1,030 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

01-23-2008 08:52 PM in reply to: selby
This was an issue with CS2 as well on larger drawings.

--
Dell Precision 690
Dual Quad Core E5320 @ 1.86GHz
4Gb DDR SDRam - 667 Mhz, ECC
SAS 146Gb - 15k rpm
Quadro FX3500 256Mb - Driver: 162.65 Bios: 5.71.22.55.08
XP Pro Sp2 - AIP 2008sp2 - D3D
Space Explorer USB 3.5.6
wrote in message news:5828687@discussion.autodesk.com...
Many thanks Blair - I'd just upgraded to CS3, seems the PDF module installs
at its lowest setting!

Ralph
Distinguished Contributor
alh-alliedmin
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-10-2007
Message 5 of 8 (1,028 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

07-20-2010 12:09 PM in reply to: *Blair A. Stunder

Wow, 2010 and this is still and issue.

Thanks Blair.

 

Windows 7, 64 bit

Adobe Acrobat 9 Standard.

IV 2009 (Yes I know it's supported on Windows 7)

 

PDF printer was making those fun stripes.

Uping the printer's quality to High solved the issue.

Distinguished Contributor
msklein
Posts: 1,454
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 6 of 8 (970 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

07-21-2010 10:56 AM in reply to: alh-alliedmin

My question is how do you get the settings to stay so you don't have to remember to make these settings every time you need to do a PDF.

MSK

Distinguished Contributor
alh-alliedmin
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎09-10-2007
Message 7 of 8 (962 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

07-21-2010 12:04 PM in reply to: alh-alliedmin

Man I need to work on my proof reading skills.

 

What I meant to say was ...

"is still an issue"

and

"(Yes I know it's NOT supported on Windows 7)"

 

 

As far as making the setting stick, I think I know what you're talking about.

If you make a change to the printer setting from inside a program, the changes are temporary.

Example If you are in Excel and select print and then go to printer properties, all of those changes are associated with that one spread sheet.

What you need to do is go to the "Start" button and then click on printers. When you right click on the Adobe Printer and go to Preferences, any changes you make now will stay with the printer.

 

Hope that helps.

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,316
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 8 (951 Views)

Re: PDF Printing Problem

07-21-2010 01:25 PM in reply to: selby

In Win7, you can: Start>Devices and Printer>Adobe PDF>RMB>Printing Preferences>High Quality.

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.06.109
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!