Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Shak, Jason
Message 1 of 7 (44 Views)

Pattern a Pattern of Components

44 Views, 6 Replies
11-20-2002 08:05 AM
Hi I'm hoping that someone will have a solution for me. I have pipe and a
circular pattern of knobs around it. I would like to take that pattern and
create a rectangular pattern down the length but... I can't pattern a
pattern of components.

I can fudge it in a part because you can pattern a pattern of a feature but
that isn't going to do me any favors at BOM time.

If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it.

Jason
*Keller, Kent
Message 2 of 7 (44 Views)

Re: Pattern a Pattern of Components

11-20-2002 08:08 AM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
Make the pattern a sub and array the sub

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Jason Shak" wrote in message
news:660D85C99DD336A1FC0EF381A1CAE62B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Hi I'm hoping that someone will have a solution for me. I have pipe and a
> circular pattern of knobs around it. I would like to take that pattern and
> create a rectangular pattern down the length but... I can't pattern a
> pattern of components.
>
> I can fudge it in a part because you can pattern a pattern of a feature but
> that isn't going to do me any favors at BOM time.
>
> If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it.
>
> Jason
>
>
*Shak, Jason
Message 3 of 7 (44 Views)

Re:

11-20-2002 08:15 AM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
Thanks Kent!

"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:D53DC48FAA5957C3B3415528D7A627D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Make the pattern a sub and array the sub
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Jason Shak" wrote in message
> news:660D85C99DD336A1FC0EF381A1CAE62B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Hi I'm hoping that someone will have a solution for me. I have pipe and
a
> > circular pattern of knobs around it. I would like to take that pattern
and
> > create a rectangular pattern down the length but... I can't pattern a
> > pattern of components.
> >
> > I can fudge it in a part because you can pattern a pattern of a feature
but
> > that isn't going to do me any favors at BOM time.
> >
> > If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it.
> >
> > Jason
> >
> >
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 7 (44 Views)

Re:

12-09-2002 05:39 AM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
Kent. Can you be a little more specific for us new folk. How do I make the pattern a sub?
*Keller, Kent
Message 5 of 7 (44 Views)

Re:

12-09-2002 06:32 AM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
I think I might have been mistaken. I thought you could just demote them, but it doesn't
appear you can in a little test I tried.

I am still stuck in 5.3 though, maybe I am remembering something from R6??, but probably
just wishful thinking? Sorry.

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"shastu" wrote in message news:f125b6f.2@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Kent. Can you be a little more specific for us new folk. How do I make the pattern a
sub?
*KJohnson
Message 6 of 7 (44 Views)

Re:

12-09-2002 08:50 PM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
Kent I just tried and you can demote a component array in IV6.

Kathy Johnson

"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:121F07B9305C719F3AB6A8BB65731067@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I think I might have been mistaken. I thought you could just demote them,
but it doesn't
> appear you can in a little test I tried.
>
> I am still stuck in 5.3 though, maybe I am remembering something from
R6??, but probably
> just wishful thinking? Sorry.
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "shastu" wrote in message
news:f125b6f.2@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Kent. Can you be a little more specific for us new folk. How do I make
the pattern a
> sub?
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 7 (44 Views)

Re:

12-09-2002 11:21 PM in reply to: *Shak, Jason
That is what I was afraid you were talking about. When demoting a pattern there are three things that I don't like about it. First of all it looses my constraints that I had already took the time to define. Secondly, it then makes the pattern an assembly. This seems to me a bit ridiculous. If I want to Pattern a Pattern of hardware, it seems silly that I have to have an assembly of just hardware. I don't want to end up with thousands of assemblies of just hardware. Thirdly, and most importantly, I now loose the whole purpose of what Patterns are created for. The nice thing about Patterns is this. If I create a hole pattern and then pattern hardware to that hole pattern. If by chance I have to change the hole pattern distances, my hardware updates with it. Once you use the Demote command, it makes it an assembly, and the original pattern is no longer existent so it does not update and you would have to go into the assembly and change the distance between the components. Oh wait :smileysad: you can't because if you open the assembly, there is no dimension between the parts. It is just based on what it was at that point in time. So then you basically have to start over creating your first pattern, demoting and then creating your second pattern. So you see really you are not at all doing what this thread topic is asking. You are not making a Pattern of a Pattern. Instead you are replacing one Pattern with another, that no longer updates. This does not seem like an acceptable practice to me. Does anyone else have any ideas of a better way to do this same concept?
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.