Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing parameters to an assembly?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
1002 Views, 9 Replies

Passing parameters to an assembly?

I have a master layout (ipt), from which I've created derived parts, that get put together in an assembly. I'm able to pass parameters from my master part to the derived parts, but I don't seem to be able to pass parameters from the derived parts to the assy. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance,
Richard in Houston
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

One way to pass/share parameters to both parts and assemblies would be to use a linked (not embedded) spreadsheet. Blane
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous

Yes it is. Open the parameters dialog in the assembly, and click link down at the bottom. Change the file type to .ipt, and select your master sketch file. It will link the parameters marked for export in your master sketch file... -- Cory McConnell Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert www.mechanixdesigns.com
Message 4 of 10
Anonymous

Thanks for the replies.
I guess linking to the spreadsheet should have been obvious since my master sketch is driven by a spreadsheet. I did not realize I could link to the .ipt, which is ideal for this particular situation.

Thanks again,
Richard in Houston
Message 5 of 10
Anonymous

Linked spreadsheets can become cumbersome if you ever need to rename or copy them for another application because renaming of excel file and OLE links cannot be updated using DA. This makes any changes in excel files more time consuming to update. Dont get me wrong tho if you have a unique application where excel filename is never changed it works fine.
Message 6 of 10
deltades

I want to use I logic to adjust an assembly constraint based on T/F value passed from a master sketch.