Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Part with variable embossed text

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Schlansky
1313 Views, 5 Replies

Part with variable embossed text

First let me say that I'm a beginner when it comes to Inventor.

I would like to make a single part with some embossed text on it.  Let's say it's a label, where the text would just be a single digit number.

Is it possible to make this text variable?  I want to be able to add several instances of this part to an assembly, and have each one have a distinct number.

For example; 5 of these labels numbered from 1 to 5.

Is this possible, and if so, what is the best way to achieve it?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Hi Schlansky,

You can create a User Text Parameter and then call this parameter into a sketch, and then use the Emboss tool to create the embossed text. Then you can change the parameter value and it will update the emboss feature.

However, it sounds like you want to create a part family (iPart Factory). Unfortunately Text Parameters are not supported, but you since you're wanting to use numbers I think you'll be okay.

Here are some releated links:

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2011/07/emboss-text-in-an-ipart.html

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-General/User-defined-text-paramter-in-iPart/td-p/3127876

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Message 3 of 6
mcgyvr
in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

It "should" be done as an ipart or just different part files.

In the real world.. if one part is different from another it shouldn't be the same part number..plain and simple. Inventor should follow real world situations.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------