Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
wolf1o
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 1 of 13 (477 Views)

Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

477 Views, 12 Replies
08-17-2011 11:05 AM

Hi,

 

I'm new to Inventor 2012 (used it many years back) and usually use solidworks.

I'm used to do configuration on parts and assemblies where you can supress (turn on/off) for instance some of the features in one config and enable it in another. (Same for assemblies, where you can supress one part in one, and turn it on in another).

How do you do that in Inventor?

For instance, I have folded model which i need to add on it some fillets which aren't possible on the true flat part, and i thought the best way is to add a configuration with the required "after fold" features. but I don't know how to create such configuration and to supress the features on tthe master view.

 

I'd appreciate some quick explanation on how to make it.

Thanks!

Inventor 2012 Pro.
I7 workstation
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,576
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 13 (470 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:14 AM in reply to: wolf1o

wolf1o wrote:

How do you do that in Inventor?

For instance, I have folded model which i need to add on it some fillets which aren't possible on the true flat part, and


 

Sounds to me like you are describing 3 completely different problems.
Attach this one first.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
wolf1o
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 3 of 13 (468 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:19 AM in reply to: JDMather

No, not all.

 

In solidworks you call it "configuration", whether it in a part or in an assembly.

In a part, You can add a configuration (as many as you like/neeD), and for instance decide that in one configuration some of the features are "Supressed".

 

In my case, I have a sheet metal part, and i want to create a configration in which I'll add features which aren't possible to do on a standard sheet metal part. (Like fillets along the external edges..which cannot be done when you cut a sheet of metal).

 

But this question is good for any thing you want to do on parts, not just this example of sheet metal.

The same with assembly:

If you have one assembly, but you want to add a configuration in which some parts/sub assemblies are not used and supressed, and in another they are..

 

Now it's more clear i hope...

Inventor 2012 Pro.
I7 workstation
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,845
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 13 (467 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:27 AM in reply to: wolf1o

In Inventor they are called iparts and iassemblies

Try looking around in the help and come back with specific questions.

 

Your sheet metal example is really not a good example UNLESS you actually buy/build it without the fillets, then buy/build a different version with fillets.. Then it is accomplished with an ipart. But if its just one part that needs features that can't be accomplished in the sheet metal environment then you simply go to the model tab instead of the sheet metal tab and add those fillets (now I can't remember if the model tab is always exposed in the sheet metal environment or if I added that tab via customization but its there/can be added in the sheet metal environment.)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
wolf1o
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 5 of 13 (463 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:31 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Ok.

So what you say is that i can do it with Ipart - i'll try it.

But you were right: I'm getting the part with these fillets, so probably the way you suggested with the model tab is better.In this way The added features won't be shown on the flat panel?Can you help me how to get to this panel?

 

Thanks!

Inventor 2012 Pro.
I7 workstation
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,845
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 13 (459 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:34 AM in reply to: wolf1o

oops sorry missed the part about those not showing up on the flat pattern.. They will... So an ipart would be the way to go.

 

Simply googling "inventor create iparts" will give you tons of tips/videos,etc.. like http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=10921207

 

Try it yourself.. post back if you have issues.. We will try to help.. This forum is excellent when it comes to helping other engineers/drafters,etc..

 

and don't forget about the wiki http://wikihelp.autodesk.com

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
wolf1o
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 7 of 13 (448 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:55 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Hi,

 

I went to the ipart window, and now i have two rows, with one having the fature compute, and the second row with the feature suppressed.But what's now?how do I switch between them?

How can I choose it when i'm creating a drawing for instance.

I tried to wiki but it's doesn't show/says how to do it.(didn't find it...)

 

Please help:-)

 

Thanks

Inventor 2012 Pro.
I7 workstation
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,576
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 13 (446 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 11:56 AM in reply to: wolf1o

wolf1o wrote:

No, not all.

 

In solidworks ...

 

Now it's more clear i hope...


You must have missed the information in my signature. (in particular the CSWP)

This will all go a lot faster if you follow my instructions to look at one part of the problem at a time.
Attach your file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
wolf1o
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 9 of 13 (439 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 12:12 PM in reply to: JDMather

Hi,

 

Managed to do it!

 

Many thanks!

Inventor 2012 Pro.
I7 workstation
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,576
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 13 (437 Views)

Re: Part/assembly configuration - Please help (Newbie)

08-17-2011 12:16 PM in reply to: wolf1o

wolf1o wrote:

Hi,

 

Managed to do it!

 

Many thanks!


Attach your file here to see if your solution is what others would do.

Did you manage to do all three questions you posted in this thread?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.