Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 1 of 7

Output step tolerance

653 Views, 6 Replies
10-04-2010 06:49 AM

Is there a way to define the export tolerance of a step file?

Now the tolerance is always set to 0.01mm but i need a tolerance of 0.001 to go further in another CAD/CAM System.

 

mima

*Expert Elite*
879 Posts
50 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Post 2 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

10-04-2010 07:41 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Possibly set in document settings> units, set the precision 0.0000.... not sure though.

Give it a try, see if it does what you want.

Valued Contributor
128 Posts
390 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 3 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

10-04-2010 08:03 AM in reply to: harco

sorry thats not what i want. This is only the viewing tolerance of dimensions not the geometric tolerance

 

mima

Employee
18 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Post 4 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

10-14-2010 10:54 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Michael,

Inventor STEP export translator doesn't support customer tolerance. I am sorry that you are not able to control the accuracy for the STEP files.

 

You may have known that with tighter tolerance, your STEP file size would grow bigger. There are some tread off between accuracy and data size.

 

Please contact me at toni.qin@autodesk.com if you would talk about this more. We would be very happy to hear your opinions.

 

Toni Qin

Employee
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Post 5 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

10-14-2010 11:05 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Michael,

0.01mm is the default export tolerance used during STEP/IGES export. We will consider making this export tolerance as an user controlled value in a future release. Feel free to send the file to madhanrajDOTselvarajATautodeskDOTcom (if you can) and we will investigate if there is any issue with 0.01mm fit tolerance.

 

Regards,

Madhan

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Post 6 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

11-07-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: smadhanraj

Is this the only tolerance available?  Even for Parasolid export.

Spoiler
 

 

Employee
18 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Post 7 of 7

Re: Output step tolerance

11-07-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: Designboltz

For export to Parasolid, there is no option for tolerance. If you have further questions, please send me email to toni.qin@autodesk.com

Toni Qin

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post