Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
nlovan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 1 of 17 (1,818 Views)

ordinate dimensions

1818 Views, 16 Replies
04-23-2010 07:36 AM
How do I rotate my value(s) on the verticle ordinate dimension verticle?
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 2 of 17 (1,818 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

04-23-2010 07:53 AM in reply to: nlovan
The best way is to create a new ordinate dimension style that reflects
the vertical text orientation.

--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert

Subscribe to the free "The Creative Inventor Magazine now available at:
http://teknigroup.com/CI-Subscribe-Login.asp
Active Member
nlovan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Message 3 of 17 (1,820 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

04-23-2010 08:32 AM in reply to: nlovan
How do you create a new ordinate dimension style that reflects the verticle text orientation?
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 4 of 17 (1,823 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

04-23-2010 08:38 AM in reply to: nlovan
The Styles Editor under the Manage tab while in an IDW. Have you worked
with styles? This can be a complicated subject. Might check out the
Styles tutorials at:
http://mfgcommunity.autodesk.com/blogs/blog/view/6/Everything_You_Need_Know_About/

If you still have problems post back!
--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert

Subscribe to the free "The Creative Inventor Magazine now available at:
http://teknigroup.com/CI-Subscribe-Login.asp
New Member
danchapman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 5 of 17 (1,826 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

05-25-2010 10:23 AM in reply to: nlovan
I am also having the same issue. I want to make my ordinate dimension text appear in the vertical orientation. I thought I had it figured out by setting the text style to a 90 deg. angle. I also made this text style referenced in my dimension style. However, it did not work. It works on the note text boxes but not with the dimension text.

Thanks
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,168
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 17 (1,826 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

05-25-2010 11:08 AM in reply to: nlovan
easiest way is to just change this option in the style editor that I have highlighted in the attached image.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


New Member
danchapman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 7 of 17 (1,826 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

05-25-2010 11:32 AM in reply to: nlovan
Thanks. I had passed over that box.
Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 8 of 17 (1,428 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

03-21-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Hi.  I just found this thread.  I was looking for the same thing.  Like shown in this picture from the help.  I wanted my text to be in-line with the leaders.  It looks like that's been answered, but does this mean that I need a separate dimension style for my ordinate dimensions if I don't want my regular dimensions to have the text rotated?

 

Thanks,

Bill

 

Ordinate.png

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 9 of 17 (1,403 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

03-21-2012 07:11 PM in reply to: nlovan

The solution below is from 2010...that switch does not control the ordinate dimensions in Inventor 2012

 

eg below

note: same dimstyle for linear and ordinate dims

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 10 of 17 (1,382 Views)

Re: ordinate dimensions

03-22-2012 04:51 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

If you don't want normal linear dimensions rotated, then you will need two different dimension styles.  But you can set your Object Defaults style to default to the appropriate style for each dimension type.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!