Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 1 of 3 (125 Views)

Offset Work Plane From Component

125 Views, 2 Replies
12-09-2011 07:25 AM

I am using Inventor 2011.  I am editing a part in my assembly. I want to create a sketch on a plane that is offset from another part. Can I do that? And How?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 3 (124 Views)

Re: Offset Work Plane From Component

12-09-2011 07:28 AM in reply to: cadcamm99

Click and drag doesn't work for you?
Attach your assembly here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 3 of 3 (115 Views)

Re: Offset Work Plane From Component

12-09-2011 08:30 AM in reply to: JDMather

That works. It was just the way I had my assembly rotated that it was not letting me select the surface. Once I zoomed in, I was able to select the surface.  Thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!