Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
guitarsoulja
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 1 of 10 (1,086 Views)

Offset - Can't offset Loop

1086 Views, 9 Replies
06-16-2012 09:02 PM

I've made a sketch (attached) where I'm attempting to offset the outermost loop by a certain distance. When I try the offset tool, despite the fact that the "Loop Select" is checked, it wont allow me to select the whole loop, but ony parts of the loop at a time. I know it's a closed loop because I'm able to extrude the sketch with no problems. I can't seem to figure this out search of the forum didn't turn anything up. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. - AJ

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,947
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 10 (1,074 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: guitarsoulja

Hi guitarsoulja,

 

I didn't take the time to diagnose your sketch for the offset issue, because I think there is a more important issue to discuss, and that is the overall approach. First off, great job creating the sketch and getting it fully constrained. But I think you can create your part more quickly and easily by going about it a bit differently. Have a look at the way I approach your part in this video and you'll notice that it comes together without fighting sketch geometry and when I get to the offset feature at the end, the profile offsets easily.

 

You'll notice that rather than building one complex base sketch to house all of the features, I can create this part more easily and quickly by creating a series of simple sketches from which I build simple features that all add up to a complex part (simple sketches + simple features = complex part). Approaching solid modeling in this way will keep you from having issues as you've had with the offset, and you'll spend more time designing and less time diagnosing issues with sketches.

 

Here is more reading on simple sketches:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/03/inventor-101-simple-fully-constrained.html

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Contributor
shuaib_cad
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Message 3 of 10 (1,050 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

@ curtis...

 

its a wrong approach....

a good design is when u hav minimum features...

coz if u have more features u are wasting memory...:smileytongue:

Active Contributor
shuaib_cad
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎11-09-2011
Message 4 of 10 (1,049 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: guitarsoulja

its does not work....

 

the solution is offset it individually and apply coincident contraint....

 

i have attached it....

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 5 of 10 (1,045 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: guitarsoulja

Make sure you have your software up to date.  There was a hotfix for this in 2012.  I am up to date and this worked fine for me on the offset.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=19164683&linkID=9242019

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18139130&linkID=9242019

 

Mark Flayler - Senior Application Engineer
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Contributor
guitarsoulja
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 6 of 10 (1,042 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thanks curtis. I'm just a beginner/student so I'm learning. I was hoping to built a base sketch from which two parts would be built that have complementary contrours on the faces that are opposite of each other (hard to explain). That's why I was hoping I could build one sketch which would form the basis of both parts, hence the complexity. I like your approach though and will implement that where ever possible.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 7 of 10 (1,038 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: guitarsoulja

If that is your intention then you are not doing anything wrong.  Having a complex sketch is not a bad thing and using multi body solids is a great way to go with complex contours.  I think Curtis just wants you to see good general modeling practice first and then you can apply that to your more complex design.

 

You should look at multibody solids though for your intent with this model.

Mark Flayler - Senior Application Engineer
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Contributor
guitarsoulja
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 8 of 10 (1,032 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Hi Mark. I'm running a student copy of 2011 Professional. I found the right update (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18176257&linkID=9242019) but I can't install it. I get the error message attached in the picture. Any ideas on this one? Thanks in advance. - AJ

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,459
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 10 (1,005 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: guitarsoulja

That Hotfix relates to Projected Geometry - not what you have.

 

I suspect you are missing some intended tangents in your sketch - and do the offset before adding construction lines.

 

But there might be a better way alltogether - offset or shell from the solid geometry rather than sketch.

 

Find the Service Packs for your release and install.

Finish the part(s) any way you can and then attach here for alternative techinques.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 10 of 10 (987 Views)

Re: Offset - Can't offset Loop

06-17-2012 06:53 PM in reply to: guitarsoulja

What Curtis suggests is good modelling practice but there are always times where it is desirable to add your features in the sketch. The problem is all your symmetry constraints and duplicated lines. I would start by drawing it 'freehand' then constrain and dimension. If you draw a straight line then click the end point and drag away you can create a tangent arc. Use this to draw your full profile in one go then utilise equal constraints instead of symmetry. I would still add the holes after the profile has been extruded.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.