Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 7 (767 Views)
Accepted Solution

Office has detected a problem with this file......

767 Views, 6 Replies
12-11-2012 12:52 PM

Been using SP1.1 for quite a while.  It has been working without issues.  This morning, I installed Update1 (for Sp1.1)

 

I had to do some work to an iassembly.  Checked it out, made my updates and checked it back in. 

 

Now another user  "Got Latest"  and he sees this when he tries to open the main assembly. "Office has detected a problem with this file.  To help protect your computer this file cannot be opened."

 

 

2012-12-11_1450.png

 

He can get the previous version of the iassembly from vault and it will open just fine.

 

Both systems are running SP1.1 Update 1.  My system uses office 2007 and his is running office 2010.

 

Kirk A.

Windows 7 x64 -12 GB Ram
Intel i7-930 @ 3.60ghz
nVidia GTS 250 -1GB (Driver 301.42)
INV Pro R2013, SP1.1 Update1
Vault Basic 2013

 

I went to vault and got out the version prior to my edits.  This opened without any security warnings from excel.  RE-made the edits and checked this in.

 

All is well now.

 

Something got hosed in excel when I checked out the file and edit it.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,142
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (751 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

12-11-2012 04:00 PM in reply to: karthur1

Try adding the location to your list of Trusted Locations within the security settings in the Options area.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 7 (725 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

12-12-2012 05:37 AM in reply to: blair

I tried adding the location for the file to the "Trusted Locations".  That did not work.  It would not let me add the location of the file.

 

2012-12-12_0733.png

 

It would accecpt the location if I moved up one level (C:\Users\KArthur\AppData\Local) and checked the "Subfolders of this location are also trusted" box.  But, when I do that, I still get the Security warning when I edit the excel sheet.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 7 (712 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

12-12-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: karthur1

I went to vault and got out the version prior to my edits.  This opened without any security warnings from excel.  RE-made the edits and checked this in.

 

All is well now.

 

Something got hosed in excel when I checked out the file and edit it.

Member
chriss88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-19-2014
Message 5 of 7 (105 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

08-19-2014 04:10 AM in reply to: karthur1
Hello i have tha same problem trying edit to table but i dont understand this solution. Could you help, when you say vault you mean "autodesk vault explorer"?My Inventor version is 2008.
Member
chriss88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-19-2014
Message 6 of 7 (99 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

08-19-2014 04:32 AM in reply to: chriss88
i might add that i try to edit table in project in Model view (it happens when i try to edit by excel file or edit in Autoring iPart). If i need to add path to Trusted Locations what exactly path?
It is Autodesk inventor 2008 and installed sp 1, 2, 3. My friend from work has MS Office 2013 and he doeasnt have this problem. My version of MS Office is 2010.
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 7 of 7 (82 Views)

Re: Office has detected a problem with this file......

08-19-2014 05:20 AM in reply to: chriss88

Chris,

 

In order to resolve my issue, I just got a prior version from Vault (yes, that's Autodesk Vault Explorer) and did my edits again.  For whatever reason, something got messed up the first time.  The second time I did it there was no problems with the file.

 

I was not successful in adding the location as a "trusted location" like one of the users suggested. But, I was able to resolve it without doing that.

 

This was with Inv 2013 and Office 2010.

 

As far as I know, that is the only time I have ever seen this error.

 

Kirk

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.