Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 514
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 1 of 6 (185 Views)
Accepted Solution

Odd happenings in Inventor

185 Views, 5 Replies
05-14-2012 09:18 AM

OK, just started noticing this issue this morning. I'm in an assembly and during the Constrain command, the "preview" option is not only deselected, but it's not even available:

Highlight.JPG

 

Which of course doesn't show the action or the result of the applied constraint as you perfrom the command.

Constrained-01.JPG

Constrained-02.JPG

 

But not only do I no longer get the preview during the command, I don't get the result AFTER I apply the command (see above). No "boink" noise either (not a bad thing mind you).

But in order to see the result of the Constraint command now, I have to select a new command:

 

Constrained-03.JPG

Constrained-04.JPG

 

None of the parts are adaptive:

 

Constrained-05.JPG

Inventor has been closed and restarted. Next step is to reboot (restarted computer this morning)

 

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,493
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 6 (182 Views)

Re: Odd happenings in Inventor

05-14-2012 09:22 AM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

Did you check that the Defer Update option is unchecked?

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,854
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 6 (179 Views)

Re: Odd happenings in Inventor

05-14-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: mrattray

and have you restarted both the computer and Inventor.. I've had similar and a restart cleared it right up.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 514
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 4 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: Odd happenings in Inventor

05-14-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

Yep, defer update was not checked (it was one of the first things I looked at, guess I should have mentioned such).

 

A complete shutdown and restart cleared everything up now.

Wierd stuff on a Monday. I should have called in sick and stayed in bed.

It's only 9:30am and with about 2 hrs of sleep under my belt last night, it's feeling more like 11:00pm right now.

 

I'll try not to get too punchy here as the day goes on....although that might be a little entertaining....:smileywink:

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,493
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 5 of 6 (157 Views)

Re: Odd happenings in Inventor

05-14-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

Everyday is a wierd Inventor day for me. Just now Inventor decided that it's not going to display certain parts when in their assemblies. Time to reboot for the third time today...

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,517
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (92 Views)

Re: Odd happenings in Inventor

05-14-2012 11:07 PM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

The "(Shaft)" bit of the assembly's name isn't a Position is it?

Because i don't think you can constrain stuff when in a positional representation.

 


Using IV2014 Pro SP2 - upd.1, Win7-64bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.