Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 1 of 15 (691 Views)
Accepted Solution

O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

691 Views, 14 Replies
07-18-2012 08:26 PM

Hey everyone:

 

When I try to use the o-ring generator, I can choose the standard for the O-ring, (Parker Internal pressure at this point) by using the small button with the triangle.  However, when I click the button with the three dots on it to choose the size, only one size shows up and I can't change it.

 

Is there a magic trick to choosing a different size, or do I have a content center issue?

 

Thx

********************************************************
Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1

Yes, I've experimented now and found this to be true.  It's a little strange to have the list available to you and not be able to use it at all.

 

When I was trying to do this, I was creating a seal on a fairly large diameter, so I was zoomed out quite a ways.  So the little tiny oring comes in and the glyphs are so small that I wouldn't have thought to zoom way in and have to drag it all the way out.

 

Nonetheless, I'm glad to have the issue resolved.

 

Any provisions coming up for dovetail and/or half-dovetail grooves?  Turns out, I rarely ever use a "regular" groove because we need the seal retention provided by the dovetail.

 

Thank you all for your help!

Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 2 of 15 (657 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-24-2012 08:46 PM in reply to: tdswanson

Anyone?

********************************************************
Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 15 (646 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-25-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: tdswanson

Inventor version? (Hint: put it in your signature)

Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 4 of 15 (642 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-25-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: sbixler

Good tip.  It's Inventor 2012, haven't upgraded to 2013 yet.

 

Thanks!

********************************************************
Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 15 (636 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-25-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: tdswanson

Does it do that for any size shaft?  I tried it on a 3/8" dia shaft, and only got one choice.  But on a 1" dia I got four choices.

 

Edit: sorry, just re-read your first post-- you're working on an internal O-ring.  Seems to have more choices for some sizes than for others, though.  What kind of configuration are you trying to apply it to?

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 6 of 15 (628 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-25-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: tdswanson

OK, now I've played with it a little bit-- even though you only have one size showing in the table, you can configure it graphically by dragging the ID and cross-section controls on the screen.  In the case I tried, it was a little flakey and took several tries to get the thin section and relatively small ID that I wanted, but it appears to be possible.

Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 7 of 15 (623 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-25-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: sbixler

I'm actually building a leak test fixture.  So I've got a simple flat plate with some locating pins sticking up to locating a machined casting.  The end user will drop the part down over the locators, then clamp to create the face seal, plug some other holes and apply pressure to the casting.

 

Just saw your post about dragging the glyphs.  Yes it works, but wow that's goofy.  Is this how it works for everyone or do I have something wonky on my machine?

 

Attached is a simplified rep of the application I would have.

 

Also, I'm guessing that there's no provision for dovetail or half-dovetail grooves in the design accelerator?

 

Thanks again for your help!

********************************************************
Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1
Product Support
jon.dean
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 8 of 15 (602 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-26-2012 03:35 AM in reply to: tdswanson

When you first enter the O-Ring generator and before selecting any surfaces, hit the O-Ring selector, you will see many sizes, as shown in my screenshot.

If you first select the radial surface and seating face, then you will only see the sizes that fit the dimensions of the groove.

Jon.



Jon Dean

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,894
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 9 of 15 (596 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-26-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: jon.dean

OP was trying to use the Axial Internal Pressure series, and for me (2012), it does not show the complete table, only the cross section and ID of the smallest one in the series (see attached screen shot).  Only way I can see to change size is with the grips, and these are really difficult to manage.

Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 10 of 15 (589 Views)

Re: O-Ring Generator Only Showing One Size, regardless of type?

07-26-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: jon.dean

Jon -

 

I'm trying to do a face seal, which would seem to be axial internal.

 

When I choose "O-ring" and then set the type to axial internal (before choosing any surfaces), then click the size and I still only show one size in the table just like the JPG I posted above.

 

Also - there is no groove yet.  I'm looking to let the design accelerator create the groove for me.

 

Any thoughts?

********************************************************
Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.