Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
gordon.rogers
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
Message 1 of 5 (409 Views)
Accepted Solution

Nut and bolt constrainted to allow/show motion

409 Views, 4 Replies
10-16-2013 07:56 AM

I'm trying to constrain a length of ACME threaded rod to a nut so that when the rod is spun or threaded it shows it traveling into the nut as it will be grounded. I would like it to work as a driven assembly or if I was to turn or spin the rod by the mouse. I've reseached this for the last 2 days and can not spend any more time on it so time to ask the experts. Any help is greatly appricated.

Hi!

 

Faces tangent between parts. Drive the angle constrain.

 

Test it. Files in attach.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Active Contributor
gordon.rogers
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
Message 2 of 5 (406 Views)

Re: Nut and bolt constrainted to allow/show motion

10-16-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: gordon.rogers

Also I'm running IV2013 and do not have dynamic simulation.

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 3 of 5 (394 Views)

Re: Nut and bolt constrainted to allow/show motion

10-16-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: gordon.rogers

Hi!

 

Faces tangent between parts. Drive the angle constrain.

 

Test it. Files in attach.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Mentor
pcrawley
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎05-23-2002
Message 4 of 5 (358 Views)

Re: Nut and bolt constrainted to allow/show motion

10-16-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: gordon.rogers
Active Contributor
gordon.rogers
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
Message 5 of 5 (329 Views)

Re: Nut and bolt constrainted to allow/show motion

10-17-2013 03:19 PM in reply to: pcrawley

Both of these work but the first gets an error after too many revolutions. Not sure what causes it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.