Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 1 of 13 (567 Views)
Accepted Solution

number of diags in ladder to reference the length

567 Views, 12 Replies
03-20-2012 08:18 AM

I'm not sure how to do this but I have a ladder designed and it can vary in length from 1m to 4m. I'd like the number of diags to change based on the ladder length. The length of the diag should change to make up any differnce, not the gap between them.

 

File attached

See the part attached to my post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Incomplete-part-update-when-sketch-pattern-count-changes/td-p/3375669 for parameters that can be used to control the pattern. If you can, only sketch the unique instances and pattern the resulting features.

you could try using functions such as dividing by 2, rounding then x 2

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 2 of 13 (546 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 02:45 PM in reply to: nige106

Would I need to use iLogic to achieve this?

Valued Contributor
cadull_rb
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 3 of 13 (542 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 03:04 PM in reply to: nige106

See the part attached to my post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Incomplete-part-update-when-sketch-pattern-count-cha... for parameters that can be used to control the pattern. If you can, only sketch the unique instances and pattern the resulting features.

Contributor
Scotty87
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 4 of 13 (537 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: nige106

You don't need iLogic to achieve this, it can all be done through parameters.

After modelling the ladder (using a component pattern to specify the amount of diags), give the parameters suitable names (eg. LadderLength, DiagQty, DiagOffset, etc.).

Then in the equation column for LadderLength, type something like this:

(DiagQty * DiagOffset) + OffsetFromEnd

This is assuming the distance between end diags and the end of the ladder are equal; otherwise, just type the required distance in place of OffsetFromEnd.

Keep in mind with this equation you'll be using the diag quantity to drive the length. It can be done so that the length defines the the diag quantity, but this is a bit easier IMO.

Hope this helps. (BTW, I haven't check out the attachement so hopefully I understood your question properly!)

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 5 of 13 (522 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 04:17 AM in reply to: nige106

Excellent replies. Just had a look through the .ipt cadull_rb posted in his other thread and I found the item I was missing. I hadn't put ceil before my formula which in my case wasn't recognised when I tried using the parameter in the pattern feature.

 

Now works perfectly.

 

One other quick question unrelated, I want to draw a box around a view that finishes against my drawing border. Is it a case of freehanding by eye the end of the line or can I project the border onto my sketch?

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 6 of 13 (517 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: nige106

you can place a point that will snap to the origin of the paper, then use the fix cammand to root that point, then dimension from that point based on your border dimensions.

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 7 of 13 (510 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

Ahh, thank you, thats worked. The only part I wasn't sure of is where you say use the fix command. I haven't a clue what that is.

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 8 of 13 (506 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 06:48 AM in reply to: nige106

fix constraint, like a perpendicular or tangent constraint, the one with the padlock icon.  You need to fix this point because although it snaps to the 0,0 its not really attached to anything

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Contributor
Scotty87
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 9 of 13 (491 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-22-2012 02:07 AM in reply to: nige106

Just re-read your question (and checked out the attachment), and realised that I misinterpreted it. Anyway, my attachment shows what I was originally trying to say (made a few errors in my original post).

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 10 of 13 (482 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-22-2012 02:47 AM in reply to: nige106

Thanks to everyone who replied for taking time to do so.:smileyhappy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.