Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
meck
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎02-11-2004
Message 1 of 4 (228 Views)

No Parameter Name for Offset Plane

228 Views, 3 Replies
06-22-2012 06:35 AM

All previous releases of Inventor before 2013 would display the name of the parameter that controls the offset value of a plane. While editing an offset plane you could see the name either in the title of the pop up or by holding your cursor over the parameter value. In release 2013 I have been unable to find the parameter name anywhere when editing the plane. I have a lot of equations in my models. Being able to track down bugs is difficult enough without not knowing what parameter I'm looking at.

 

Is there a setting I need to turn on/off to get the parameter name to display again?

Mike Eck
Senior Designer/ CAD Programmer
Howden North America
Using Inventor 2013
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,507
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 4 (225 Views)

Re: No Parameter Name for Offset Plane

06-22-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: meck

Are you using the mini toolbar? They haven't ever shown parameter names, it's a "known issue". Instead, drill into the browser and look at the mate for the plane. You'll see the parameter name there.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 570
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 3 of 4 (218 Views)

Re: No Parameter Name for Offset Plane

06-22-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: mrattray

This would only work in the assembly environment.

In a part there is a tooltip that tells you in which feature a parameter is used (better than nothing):

 

workplane.jpg

 

We have already logged defect on this in our database:

 

1462266 Mini toolbar does not show the value of formulas

 

Bob

Valued Mentor
meck
Posts: 360
Registered: ‎02-11-2004
Message 4 of 4 (210 Views)

Re: No Parameter Name for Offset Plane

06-22-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: bobvdd

Thanks for the response. At least now I know it's not me and that the issue is on the agenda.

Mike Eck
Senior Designer/ CAD Programmer
Howden North America
Using Inventor 2013
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.