Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
alentor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 1 of 4 (180 Views)
Accepted Solution

Newbies quesitons

180 Views, 3 Replies
01-17-2013 03:54 AM

Hello

I'm coming from about 6 years of experience with working with 3D software (Maya, zBrush, realflow and mudbox), Starting from Maya 8.

 

But it seems like it's not enough for me to figure out how to align an object 90 degrees relative to the ground.

Also how can draw a 350x350mm rectangle without using the demension tool to check the size of the rectangle every time I resize it?

The reason why I'm working with Inventor and not with maya is cause of my dad got an idea for a patent, and asked me for help with building it.
There will be more a lot of question coming.
Thank you for your help.

-William


alentor wrote:

Also how can draw a 350x350mm rectangle without using the demension tool to check the size of the rectangle every time I resize it?


You shouldn't try.  When you want to resize your rectangle, you change the dimensions.  The dimensions in an Inventor sketch control the size of the various elements and allow you to change them in a controlled fashion.  You place the rectangle, and you dimension/constrain not only its size, but also its placement relative to existing features on the model, or better yet, to the model's origin (planes, axes, center point).  In most cases (all cases for a beginner!), every sketch should be fully constrained so that the prompt in the lower right corner of the screen says "Fully Constrained" instead of "4 dimensions needed".

 

I'd strongly suggest you go through these tutorials from JD Mather: skillsusa university & MA13-3, and also the tutorials available in Inventor and in the Wikihelp.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

 

 

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,929
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 4 (175 Views)

Re: Newbies quesitons

01-17-2013 04:20 AM in reply to: alentor

alentor wrote:

Also how can draw a 350x350mm rectangle without using the demension tool to check the size of the rectangle every time I resize it?


You shouldn't try.  When you want to resize your rectangle, you change the dimensions.  The dimensions in an Inventor sketch control the size of the various elements and allow you to change them in a controlled fashion.  You place the rectangle, and you dimension/constrain not only its size, but also its placement relative to existing features on the model, or better yet, to the model's origin (planes, axes, center point).  In most cases (all cases for a beginner!), every sketch should be fully constrained so that the prompt in the lower right corner of the screen says "Fully Constrained" instead of "4 dimensions needed".

 

I'd strongly suggest you go through these tutorials from JD Mather: skillsusa university & MA13-3, and also the tutorials available in Inventor and in the Wikihelp.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,471
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (166 Views)

Re: Newbies quesitons

01-17-2013 04:38 AM in reply to: alentor

alentor wrote:

Hello

I'm coming from about 6 years of experience with working with 3D software (Maya, zBrush, realflow and mudbox), Starting from Maya 8.


-William


This experience will more likely be a hinderance than a help.
You will need to adopt an entirely new mindset were the parameters (constraints and dimensions) control the model.

You edit parameters to edit the model.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 806
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 4 of 4 (139 Views)

Re: Newbies quesitons

01-17-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: alentor

I started out in basically the same way that you did.  My background was Lightwave 3D, Modo, and Zbrush.  Using Inventor is a completely different mindset, and my background with the other software left me with habits that were VERY hard to break at first.

 

These days, I pretty much only use Inventor.  I don't think I'd even be able to model something in Lightwave or Modo anymore after this much time with Inventor.

 

The tutorials that Sbixler linked to were absolutely crucial in my learning process.  Make use of those and any other of JD Mather's tutorials that you can find.  Some of them are a little out of date due to changes in the software, but you can still pick something up from most of them.  The interface might be a little different from what they show, but they're still useful.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Workstation: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.