Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions, sections, parameters, vault out of date

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
westcoast_Jeff
485 Views, 5 Replies

Newbie questions, sections, parameters, vault out of date

Hello,

I am new to Inventor and this user group so forgive me if these question have been asked before.

I have a long history with Pro/E (Creo) but have recently moved to Inventor with a new position.  I have a few basic questions.

Inventor 2011 build 282   Vault 2010 build 15.0.58.0

- How do I show parameters in the model tree?  It is hard to naviate when using simple number systems

- How do you create section views of parts?  I have a machined manifold with through ports

- When using Inventor with Vault, how can I open a part number without knowing the folder?  Is there a search?  Working with vault and directory folders seems a little cumbersome when there are a lot of folders.

- When using inventor with Vault and working with large assemblies, how can I find out what objects in my workspace are out of date?

Thanks,

Jeff

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Hi, I also have some questions regarding the sheetmetal workflow. Can you create solid models then convert them to sheetmetal and select which faces to remove and which edges are a rip or bend?
Message 3 of 6
cwhetten
in reply to: westcoast_Jeff

Hi and welcome to the forum!

How do I show parameters in the model tree?  It is hard to naviate when using simple number systems

I'm not quite sure what you mean by this, but if you go to the manage tab (are you using the ribbon or the classic interface?), there is a tool called Parameters.  This will open the parameters editor, which will list all parameters in the active document.  Click this link for the wikihelp article on parameters.