Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
16 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
Post 1 of 4
Accepted Solution

Newbie Question: Grounded Work Point Vs. Work Point Vs. Sketch Point

451 Views, 3 Replies
02-05-2013 11:57 AM

I'd appreciate anyone explaining the use/differences of Grounded Work Points Vs. Work Point Vs. Sketch Points.

 

P.S. Beyond the scope of the initial question, why can't the assembly create a 3D sketch? I'd like to create ten or twenty points in 3D (x, y, z) space.

See here for an explanation of the differences between a work point and a grounded work point:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=TOOLTIP_PARTGROUNDEDWORKPOINTCMD&language=ENU&release=2012&product=Inventor

 

I have never needed a grounded work point, so I can't offer any insight into why you would want to use them.

 

Sketch points are really similar to work points.  They exist in the sketch, so if the sketch is deleted, the sketch points are also deleted.  Also, all vertices of sketch entities (line, arc, or spline endpoints, arc centers, etc.) are also sketch points.  Sketch points can be used to create work points, and vice versa.

 

I don't know why 3D sketches are not available in the assembly environment.  You may need to create a part with your point cloud, and then insert it into your assembly.  Or create the point cloud in an existing part, depending on how you wish to use it.

 

-cwhetten

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.

Inventor IdeaStation 


Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

*Expert Elite*
1,097 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Post 2 of 4

Re: Newbie Question: Grounded Work Point Vs. Work Point Vs. Sketch Point

02-05-2013 03:06 PM in reply to: trus

See here for an explanation of the differences between a work point and a grounded work point:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=TOOLTIP_PARTGROUNDEDWORKPOINTCMD&language=ENU&release...

 

I have never needed a grounded work point, so I can't offer any insight into why you would want to use them.

 

Sketch points are really similar to work points.  They exist in the sketch, so if the sketch is deleted, the sketch points are also deleted.  Also, all vertices of sketch entities (line, arc, or spline endpoints, arc centers, etc.) are also sketch points.  Sketch points can be used to create work points, and vice versa.

 

I don't know why 3D sketches are not available in the assembly environment.  You may need to create a part with your point cloud, and then insert it into your assembly.  Or create the point cloud in an existing part, depending on how you wish to use it.

 

-cwhetten

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.

Contributor
16 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
Post 3 of 4

Re: Newbie Question: Grounded Work Point Vs. Work Point Vs. Sketch Point

02-06-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: cwhetten

Thank you.

 

As a new member to the AutoDesk family, how does one (AKA a user) submit recommendations to the AutoDesk folks in charge of new features. (i.e., Enhancement Request)

 

 -- Tony

*Pro
1,992 Posts
284 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Post 4 of 4

Re: Newbie Question: Grounded Work Point Vs. Work Point Vs. Sketch Point

02-06-2013 05:52 AM in reply to: trus

Inventor IdeaStation 


Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post